Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
It was sooooo good! I'm so not ordering sesame chicken for take out anymore !!! Couldn't believe I actually made this! I wanna try to bake the chicken instead of deep frying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
My entire family loved this. I scaled this down to 4 servings; substituted rice vinegar for the distilled white vinegar and used red curry paste in place of the chile paste (because that's what I had on hand). I also just fried the marinated chicken in a bit of vegetable oil, which I recommend over olive oil. We served this over white rice with a side of steamed broccoli and some scallions for garnish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made as written except I pan fried instead of deep fried. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was awesome! Best "chinese style" food I've ever made. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
very easy and the teenagers and husband were in heaven! Prepared exactly as recipe directs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time I baked the chicken as other reviewers recommended and had a HUGE mess in the kitchen. The chicken flavor was good baked but the cleanup was a nightmare. So the second time I fried the chicken and the recipe turned out much better. Sometimes you just have to enjoy the extra calories from frying and cut back calories somewhere else. I followed the recipe to the letter both times. I think the next time I will back down on the sugar maybe by half and switch to brown sugar from Zulka sugar (dehydrated cane juice sugar). I love the texture of the breading so much that I plan to use this recipe for breading fish (minus the soy sauce) in other recipes. The chicken breading is so light and crispy that it's ideal to use in other ways. I do plan to add this into long term meal rotation (since it's fried I can't put it in very often). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made according to recipe and it was very tasty. Next-time I make this dish, I will add less cornstarch in the sauce because it was a bit too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner and it was a lot of work for the outcome. After reading reviews, I decided to use half the sugar, and half the sesame oil. I also used half of the cornstarch slurry. The sauce came out good, but what disappointed me was the chicken breading. I was expecting a thicker crispy batter. This was very thin, and not very flavourful. I might try this again and play around with the batter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My kids said, "Mom you have to make this more often". That kind of says it all!! The only variation is I fried the chicken in vegetable oil, not olive oil. Will make this again and again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I only used a half cup of sugar, it came out excellent the kids loved it! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States