Perfect Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
definitely juicy! i added onion powder, paprika and season salt. i also dotted the chicken with half of the butter mixture and melted the rest and poured over the chicken. i also flipped the chicken every 45 min while in the over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
We thought this was delicious! I 3/4'd the recipe for an almost 5 pound chicken (Trader Joe's), and it was plenty! I did put most of the butter (not margarine) either under the skin or in the cavity, otherwise following the directions. You could add whatever you wanted to the cavity (onion? garlic?), but whatever, this is delicious. Most of the butter doesn't stick to the chicken, but it certainly makes a great chicken, let me tell you! And right now I've had the carcass and all the other bones, carrots, celery, and onion in a pot so that I will have the best broth in the world. We will have several meals from this chicken! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I used butter and mixed it with the herbs then added fresh garlic and some lemon. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Great recipe for "Perfect Roast Chicken"! I was able to use this for a 7 lb. bird so if you've got something smaller I'd cut the recipe in half. I didn't have garlic salt so I used a bit of salt mixed with garlic powder. I also opted to add a bit of onion powder to the mix. I put it in the roaster and covered it with non-stick foil and let it set in the fridge all day. I stuffed the cavity with some onion and celery let it come to room temp. and baked it for about three hours and it smelled divine. This was so incredibly moist, tender, and delicious without a ton of effort - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Used fresh herbs, real butter and added some lemon and vegetables, but didn't cook in a bag ~ this turned out to be a real winner. Super juicy and moist. Hubby kept saying it was the best he ever had, even better than his mom's. Thank you for sharing. Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I just tried this recipe and it is wonderful - and easy! I did use unsalted butter instead of margarine, and reduced the 1 cup to 1/2 cup and it worked great on an almost 6 lb bird. The sauce ( gravy if you choose to make it ) was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. I used a 4.5lb chicken and it was delicious. I plan on adjusting some spices, but enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Mixen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is the best recipe I've tried all year. It is perfect chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed the instructions and also added some of our family favorites. I stuffed it with fresh celery leaves and half an orange. I baked it per the instructions and we had it with baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOVA Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe was awesome! I modified some part of the recipe though. I brined the chicken for about 4-5 hours, i used butter instead of margarine ( but butter was difficult to work with, so margarine might be the best , i put more rosemary, and I put celery and lemon inside the chicken. it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States