Perfect Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Good recipe for newbies to whole chicken cooking. I did what others recommended and halved the butter/margarine (but I used 1/2c butter) but the other adjustment I'd make is CUT THE SALT IN HALF (or more!). This was borderline overpowering garlic salt for me. I won't be using the broth to dress anything, unfortunately that will go to waste, but the rest should make a top notch chicken broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Excellent flavor. I put 1/4 lemon and garlic inside the cavity and rubbed the chicken with Tory’s rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Added 1 tsp oregano and 1 tsp paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is the simplest, best roast chicken recipe I have found. I however half the butter. Not because I thought it called for too much but because I was out. Make sure and baste it a few times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I added minced garlic, minced onion, and used butter. I did baste it twice in the drippings. Very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've been roasting my chickenS as well as turkeys this way for years. IMHO, this uses way too much marg. For a chicken, I'd say 1/4 cup butter is plenty. Here's a tip I recently learned. Unwrap your chicken from it's packaging and leave in the fridge overnight to air dry the skin then your butter will rub in much better! The whole idea of using this method is that YOU DON'T HAVE TO BASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is my first time to rate a recipe on the site! But this one was the best roast chicken I have ever made! The only thing I did different was to put some of the rub under the skin also as well as rubbing it all over & put half a lemon in the cavity! Juicy & delish. This will definitely be my go to for roast chix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tortiz
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I've cooked this chicken twice so far, within weeks apart. It's just THAT GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tortiz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Try stuffing it with fresh basil leaves seasoned with salt and the lemon. Meyers lemon from CA if possible. Best roast chicken I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Stephen
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
First crack at roasting a whole chicken, and I wanted crispy crackling skin. I followed this recipe which was FANTASTIC. I used butter instead of margarine, and my only complaint is that it needed far less butter than it called for, so I will half the quantity next time. It also cooked faster than expected, so make sure to take periodic temperature readings as you baste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States