Perfect Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving with a premade uncooked crust from the grocery store. I was in a rush so instead of leaving it at 425 for 15 mins then 350 for 50 mins, I left it in at 425 for 40 mins on the bottom rack. It cooked perfectly with no soggy or burnt crust but the spices which tasted awesome in the batter were a little strong for my taste when it was cooked.except for the cooking temp/ time I followed the given recipe exactly and am really glad I didn't follow the reviews and up the spices since it would have made it even worse. I also did not precook my crust or cover it with foil. I did brush some egg yolk on the crust though and it browned nicely. I will try another slice tomorrow to see if it was truly horrible or not but for now i am not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was my first time making a pumpkin pie and thankfully it was easy to do. My daughter is a big fan of this pie, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe today..Thanksgiving day..and I felt like I really liked the texture of the pie and how nice and even it cooked but I did feel like a little flavor or spices were missing. I think the sweetened milk might have overpowered the spices because I used the same as I usually do with evaporated milk. But overall it was a decent pie I think I will make it again and maybe adjust seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
'Added 1/2 tsp allspice....came out perfect, just enough sweetness with the pumpkin flavor just right'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
At first I thought the sweetened condensed milk was a typo because all of the recipes on the cans of pumpkin say evaporated milk. I took a leap of faith and made it exactly as written. I regret that I only made 1 pie since my 10 guests devoured it and I don't have any leftover :(. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Simple, delicious, easy! Definitely doing this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Easy, delicious, perfect pumpkin pie. Great with a dollop of whipped cream after Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Line the pie plate with bottom pastry. Beat one egg white and 1 tablespoon water; brush over crust to keep crust from getting soggy. Learned this tip when I was making a raspberry pie one summer. It works great and you can use it for any type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I use this recipe every year and it never fails. I make two to six pies a year, depending on who's doing the cooking for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Dahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this with a sugar pumpkin instead of canned and added a bit extra cinnamon, I've never seen a vanishing pie before. It was gone before I got to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States