Perfect Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is a very tasty, traditional pumpkin pie. I used fresh pumpkin puree instead of canned pumpkin, which I would recommend because it is fresher and gives more texture. Also, if you are using a homemade pie crust, I recommend you bake it a tad before adding the filling. Otherwise, the crust will get mushy. I cooked my pie for almost an hour (cooking time varies)and then, cooked for 15 minutes on the very bottom rack to finish the cooking of my crust while also lightly browing the top of the pie. You end up with a perfectly spiced product, perfect with Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner (or anytime you crave it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
As always, this classic recipe is timeless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Grew up on this recipe and it wouldn't be T'Day withpout it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I have been making this pie for Thanksgiving for 12 years since my son's pre-school class made it and he began requesting it every year. Our recipe calls for 1 c. sugar (white or lt. brown) in addition to the sw. condensed milk and 1 tsp. vanilla. They freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
This was the best pumpkin pie i have ever made/eaten. I would recommend it to everyone. It was real easy to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Good recipe! Easy to make and very tastey! I got lots of compliments on it at a family Christmas gathering. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This will now be the only pumpkin pie recipe I will use. The filling was a lot thicker than some of the other recipes I've tried, which made it much easier to get it in the oven without making a mess. And it tasted great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Yummy with a capital Y!!!!! This is a wonderful version of pumpkin pie and much easier than the old evaporated milk recipe. I made two pies for t-day and two for Christmas and received rave reviews both times. The only change that I made was to add 2t of pumpkin pie spice in place of the other spices. Very simple that way and just as good. I'm already looking forward to next year's holidays and making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This was the first pie I've ever made and I'd say it was a sucess considering my boyfriend went back for seconds, then thirds and then fourths! I used fresh japanese pumpkins which are nice and sweet. I cooked them by cutting them up into small chunks without the skin, placed them into a freezer bag and then cooked them in the microwave for 10 minutes. They came out nice and soft so it was really easy puree in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Classic pumpkin pie & very easy to make, especially with a prepared pie shell. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States