Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is a SIMPLE recipe and tastes delicious! I used 1/2 Tablespoon of onion powder instead of real onions because onions get soggy in the pressure cooker. I cooked the roast on the second ring for thirty minutes, did the quick release method (cold water) and then added carrots and quartered roast potatoes. Then I brought it to the second ring again and cooked for 15 minutes. Then used the quick release method again. SIMPLE and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Yumsssss! This was the first time I ever used a pressure cooker. I used low sodium beef broth and gravy mix and I didn't think it was too salty. I also used a little Cab as well since I had some on hand. The gravy was SO GOOD. Served with mashed potatoes and crusty bread. Can't wait to make again and thanks a million for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
VERY DELICIOUS! Got a pressure cooker for Christmas & wanted to make good use of it. Between the cooker & this recipe, supper was fantastic. Great alternative to slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This exceeded our expectations. My father said it was "the best roast he ever had!". So tender for 45 minutes! The only think I did outside the recipe is to use 2 gravy packets instead of one. We made gravy with the drippings that was to die for! Thanks for sharing this recipe and now I love my pressure cooker, can't wait to try more things in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Followed this recipe verbatim and it turned out "Ok." Between the gravy mix and the dressing mix, that's a lot of sodium. I'll do this one again, eliminating one, the other, or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is an excellent recipe, The personal touches I gave were: using reduced sodium beef broth & reduced sodium brown gravy mix. I also followed one of the reviewers & cooked meat for 30 min, added 3 lg potato & 6 lg carrots & cooked for an add'l 15 min. I thickeed the gravy w/ a small amount of milk/flour mixture. It was a great tasty dinner that'll I will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Since finding this recipe, I decided it's the only way to cook roast. You can't mess up with the simple ingredients. It's fast and the roast turns out tender and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made this in the crockpot instead of the pressure cooker,and it was great. I used red wine for the liquid and added some beef base to get a beefier flavor. I put in whole cremini mushrooms and added some chopped red bell pepper. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it was delicious. I added only a tiny bit of extra salt, and it was not too salty. Hubby kept saying how good it was. I did use a rump roast instead of chuck - less fatty and it was on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The only change I made was to use non-fat, low sodium beef broth. The roast came out perfectly. It's the first time I've made pot roast in my pressure cooker and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
First tried the recipe, following it to the letter. Just tried it again this evening with a two adjustments: First added 1C of Austrailian Shiraz (any red wine will do). Second: Added whole, small red potatoes on top of the meat. cooked for 60 minutes under pressure. Worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Sutherland
Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States