Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Scared to use a pressure cooker but this turned out perfect! I added red skin potatoes & carrots ontop of the meat along with 3 cups beef broth & 1 cup red wine. I didn't use the dry ranch dressing, added 1/2 tablespoon onion salt. Cooked for 50 minutes on high heat. Glad I added the 4 cups liquid because it was getting close to drying up!! I cooked a 3 1/2 pound roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIED61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pewamo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe is the first thing I decided to make in my new pressure cooker and boy was it a success!! So flavorful and tender! I made it exactly as instructed and the only changes I made for the next time were to double the beef broth, add a little garlic, and carrots. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I have been cooking this recipe (and variations of it) for over a year now and it is by far the best pot roast I've ever had. I do think the original recipe is salty (but make it this way the first time- it's still delicious and everyone has different salt sensitivity) so I usually leave out the Italian dressing and just use the ranch. Also, instead of beef broth, I use a tablespoon of beef boullion and about a cup of red wine. I think the wine cuts some of the salt and adds some depth. And if you have a few fresh tomatoes to use up, chop them up and throw them in. Honestly, I haven't figured out a way to mess this recipe up and it is the one thing that is constantly requested for big family dinners. Love, love, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I've made this over and over and it never dissapoints. I always use a chuck roast and make sure to trim all the fat off of it so the gravy isn't greasy. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEPPY1021

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was so delicious! I have made this recipe with the pressure cooker and crock pot and both times it was so tender and yummy! I followed others suggestions of using low sodium broth, and think it helped give it the right amount of taste. It is such an easy recipe to follow for beginner cooks like me! I would definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keekers113

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I had NEVER had a good turn out of pot roast. I had also NEVER owned/used a Pressure Cooker before. The pot roast was WONDERFUL ....well so says my family. Thank you for the recipe. I will be using my pressure cooker for pot roast and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I have a new completely sealed pressure cooker (Kuhn brand). It doesn't have a rocker or a whistle unless you've gone over pressure and the blowoff valve opens. With this type of pressure cooker, 45 minutes was way too long. I'm going to reduce the time to 24 minutes next time I make this and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Fantastic every time!! So tender and tasty. BOTH of the twins love it. Add potatoes and/or carrots for the last 10 minutes for a change-up. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My whole family loved the taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clemintine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is nearly the same as the recipe I religiously use in the crockpot! The only exception is I don't use any oil. Rub the roast with the three packets mixed and add rest to the crockpot. To reduce the saltiness I use 2 cups of water in place of the broth and rump roast or bottom round instead of chuck (less fat). It's a family favorite and has been for years. I serve with egg noodles or dumplings. Delicious and easy. I can make it on the way out the door in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States