Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Just made this tonight and it was the first thing I made in my new fast slow cooker (Braville), i had my doubts as it was cooking, but it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Boy this turned out great! The only change I did was to add mushrooms to the juices for gravy. Paired with a nice Merlot! Awesome! I will definitely make this again. Too easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
OK this was my 1st time ever using a pressure cooker. I really didn't think it could cook a pot roast in 45 minutes.. Since mine was 4lbs I cooked it for 1 hour. Now I did do some changes to the recipe, I rubbed in Lipton Soup & the Spicy Ranch dressing only used half a pack of both didn't want it to be too salty. I also added red wine to the broth added little more than liquid than this recipe called for but still was no more than 1/3 of the pressure cooker...OMG this turned out so good. I added the potatoes and the carrots last 15 minutes of cooking. The veggies came out perfect.. I served this with dinner rolls and Brussel Sprouts in a butter chicken broth sauce topped with crumbled bacon.. Since I did this on the fly this afternoon went to the market (Aldi) bought my Roast. I am going to marinate it overnight before browning & cooking it in the pressure cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Fabulous; really, really fabulous. That was my husband's review. And I know his mom made the best pot roast ever - he said it was better than hers, which was his childhood favorite. Why? I've been cooking for over 30 years and using the pressure cooker keeps the roast much more moist than a three hour oven stint will. I cut back the dressing mixes to just a teaspoon each, to limit the salt, but kept the full package of brown gravy. I rubbed the roast in the dry mix and put it in the fridge for three hours (but probably not necessary for success.) I then browned the 3-lb roast in a separate dutch oven, a little bit burnt to bring out the meat flavor - then transferred it to the pressure cooker. I then deglazed the seared juices in the dutch oven (really just a big deep wide pot) and when the full 60 minutes of high on the pressure cooker was up, and the roast rested 10 minutes, I added the pressure cooker juices to the dutch oven and made the gravy there on the stovetop, thickening it with some cornstarch dissolved in water. Then added the roast to the finished, hot gravy. The added dry salad dressing spices added a richness to the flavor and made for a great gravy. Want to impress someone with your cooking skills? I think this one is a fool-proof winner that everyone will love. Five stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoJoey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was my first real pressure cooker recipe. It was amazing! Its the best pot roast I made and it only took an hour with everything. Awesome flavor, tender, it made a lot of gravy to poor on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
MamaShea this is outstanding. Made it to the letter. The meat (shoulder roast) was fall apart tender and the gravy was perfect. I did add carrots and potatoes after 35 min and after reaching steam, cooked another 10 min. Thanks for sharing. This will remain number 1 on my pressure cooker recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Oh my GOODNESS! This recipe gave me the incentive to use the pressure cooker that has been sitting in my pantry because I've been scared to death to use it :) I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out GREAT!!! The gravy was thick and tasty - I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Falmouth, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Best pot roast I've ever prepared. I used a slow cooker and kept recipe as is. Kids raved about the flavor and the tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Thanks for this recipe and suggestions. I bought a pressure cooker after not being able to make a tender potroast with my slow cooker-now that we're in the southwest. No problems in midwest. We blame it on the altitude or type of beef out here. Based on the too-salty reviews, I mixed one packet of 'McCormick's slow cooker potroast seasoning' and 2 tsp of Penzey's roasted onion pressing into meat, and cut up 3 garlic cloves and poked into the meat. Refrigerated 2 hrs(while watching the dvd on how to use the pressure cooker!) After browning meat in olive oil, I added 2 c water. 20 min before finished I added large chunks of carrots and potatoes. Best of all it was tender and tasted great. Mr. loved it! It was salty enough with the one packet of mix. Thanks for helping me get over the PRESSURE COOKER fear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Excellent....followed recipe exactly. Resulting gravy in pot was perfect and needed no thickening. Made carrots and scalloped potatoes on the side with a great sald. Perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLutes7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States