Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was the moistest pot roast i've ever had! I couldn't believe that I made it. If I can do it anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I have been making Pot Roast in the pressure cooker for some time now. However, I just use pepper, season salt, and onion powder to season the meat after browning. I also use beef broth only, no water and add a quartered onion or two, and some worcester sauce and gravy master to the broth. Then I cook for 30 minutes after pressurizing. Then I add carrots and potatoes and cook for additional 15 minutes. We like lots of gravy, so sometimes I add another can of beef broth depending how much liquid is in the pot. Everything comes out perfect every time. It takes a little longer waiting for the pressure cooker to pressurize twice, but the veggies come out perfect as well as the meat. I make a roux to mix with the gravy so it is nice and thick! This is my favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I love to cook. This recipe assembles packets. I followed the recipe to the letter. The problem with this recipe is resting on to much from packets for seasoning. Which contains to much salt. As for the cooking method, it was right on the mark. Meat was tender. I would go 2 cups water, one Goya bouillon cube. two onions, a large carrot, some pepper and any other veggies you have on hand. Thanks for your time and the right to critique your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very good recipe for an inexpensive cut of meat. I did mine in the crock pot - let it cook for 8 hours. Leftovers made great hot roast beef sandwiches. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
EXCELLENT! I didn't have ranch mix on hand so I substituted with an envelope of dry onion soup mix. Very tender and hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
this is a great way to cook a roast when you are in a hurry. only difference i do is i dont add all the seasoning mixes due to the sodium content. but i use the onion and fresh seasoning .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Pleasants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Excellent!! Turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Two yums up! I didn't really taste the dressing mixes, just beef. And moist tender beef it was. I may use a can of French Onion soup next time instead of the broth because I had more liquid than needed and it might make the gravy a little thicker and add interesting flavor (hmmm, it might not be enough liquid for the pressure cooker). Details in case there are other folks hesitant to use a pressure cooker: I was nervous to use a pressure cooker, not because of the old stories of peril (or the previous reviewers need to repaint the ceiling, LOL), but because it was a method I'm not familiar with. My chuck was 2 1/2 lbs., too large to brown in my 4 qt. cooker so I dredged it in flour and browned it in a skillet first. Other than the addition of 6 medium whole red potatoes (all that would fit), I followed the ingredient list. Because it was so full, it took a long time for the cooker to reach pressure and I had to keep the knob higher than expected (8-9 on an electric pressure cooker) to maintain pressure. The potatoes were creamy and tender, though some might consider them overdone. Now I'm disappointed there aren't more pressure cooker recipes here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I thought this was really good. I usually just make pot roast with the little flavor packet and bag, and wanted to try something different. This turned out about the same to me; It was good but no better than the easier version, so I will probably just stick to that. But it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I cannot say enough about this recipe, it was absolutely fabulous, my family was literally moaning "MMMM" the entire time they ate it. The only altercations I made to the recipe were out of necessity, I used 2c water, instead of beef broth (I didn't have any) For the gravy, I added 1/4 flour, 1c milk, and a 2nd brown gravy packet to help make up for the absence of the beef broth. It was a perfect meal; if it were possible for a six star rating this would be it. Thank-you, Thank-you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States