Perfect Porterhouse Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
There's nothing better than a perfect porterhouse. It's the best of both world's - a strip on one side and a filet on the other. I rubbed the whole steak with a little olive oil, lightly scored the strip and rubbed McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning into it and let them rest until they got to room temp, no need for tenderizer. I left the filet side alone. Once these came off the grill I let some garlic butter melt over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I used McComrick's Montreal steak seasoning and fresh cracked pepper. I prepared these the morning of and let them sit wrapped in the fridge all day. Lightly brush the steaks with oil, you really only need a very light coat or you can end up with a grill fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
So simple, yet so full of flavor. Be sure to bring the meat to room temp and there is no need for the meat tenderizer (I have never added it). I also use this method often for other cuts of steak, pork chops and burgers. This works really well indoors using a grill pan or broiling when outside grilling is not an option. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I USE GARLIC OIL AND MONTREAL STEAK SEASONING. HEAT YOUR GAS GRILL TO 450 DEG. LOOK AT YOUR GRILL AS IF IT WERE A CLOCK, PLACE YOUR STEAK AT ONE OCLOCK FOR NINETY SECONDS, THEN TURN TO FIVE OCLOCK AND COOK FOR TWO AND ONE HALF MINUTES, THEN TURN OVER AND COOK TWO OR THREE MINUTES FOR MEDIUM RARE. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This was quick, easy and tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
You can not go wrong with this recipe. There is nothing to it. It is so easy....simple. The taste is just amazing. Gotta try this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
All was well- with a side of mushroom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Very simple - I use McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning whenever I am in a rush and just want a great cooked steak without much preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very simple and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I've been making my steak like this for years - any steak. I sometime use all of the ingredients (OO, tenderizer and steak seasoning) but mostly I just coat my steak with the seasoning (I use McCormicks Montreal Steak seasoning) I often leave out the tenderizer (you really don't need it) and depending on the cut of steak, I often don't use the OO - I prefer a nice rib-eye. I use a Forman Grille - preheated - rub the Montreal seasoning into the steak and then cook it for 6 min (EXACTLY) and you will get a fantastic med rare steak - perfect! As one other reviewer mentioned, letting the meat warm up to room temp - or close to room temp helps with the tenderness and I always let the steak sit for about 5 min before cutting it so the juices can soak back into the meat (ever have a steak where the first 2 or 3 bites were great, then it seemed too dry? That's why!) Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States