Perfect Porterhouse Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Great recipe! But over the past 30 years of my career in the restaurant industry if there is one thing that I could say about steak is: DONT USE SALT BEFORE OR DURING GRILLING!!! It's like this, salt pulls moisture from the steak while cooking cause a grey, steamed steak. Try brushing with olive oil and then rub the steak with fresh garlic and fresh rosemary stems and then salt and pepper at the table. Resting for 10 minutes is key before cutting. I guarantee it will be the juiciest most flavorful steak you've EVER eaten!! Stay away from the mixes (Montreal, Canadian) TONS of salt, destroys your beautiful steak that you spent good money on. Salt at the plate, best steak you ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
i do this now and it is great i get the Canadian seasonings here in Australia from online shop called OCanada.com.au they have all sorts of Canadian ingredients Steve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This was so easy! I have always marinated our steaks, so this was the first time I have dry-rubbed a steak. It was delicious! I actually used the Montreal steak seasoning recipe from this site. We will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was a nice recipe that still let the natural flavor of the meat shine! I must admit, I was too full to even touch my strip side, so my review is based on the filet side alone (though Mr. LTH enjoyed some of both cuts). I didn't measure the EVOO, just brushed just enough to over bother sides. THANKS, chefpaularwine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
The steak was pretty good. Don't think it's going to be like a flemmings or mortons steak but defnitely a great substitute. I found the longer you keep it marinated the better it tastes. I also saw another user recommend garlic butter right off the grill and mmmmm was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious! I used two porterhouse steaks and half of the tenderzier and Montreal steak seasoning because of all the salt. The steaks were perfect! Grilled them on the Forman and served with rosemary red potatoes and steamed spinach. Great for our "east coast earthquake last meal". Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
DELICIOUS. I omitted the meat tenderizer and used Emeril's steak seasoning and it was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandee1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
this is what was said to me after the steak was prepared, "This is the best steak I've ever tasted!" Wow! Okay, so I tweeked it a little: I rinsed the steak then squeezed lemon juice onto it, poked a few holes in the steak with a knife, and then rinsed it off again. Following step 1, I added 1/4 cup of French's Worcestershire sauce with extra tenderizer to it and then proceeded with steps 2 and 3 but on a Presto griddle. MAGNIFICENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2pretty2nv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
We like steak that takes like steak and don't use steak seasoning, although we season it ouselves a bit after grilling with a touch of fresh ground pepper and/or garlic. Did like the results of using the olive oil, though. Also, porterhouse steak never needs a meat tenderizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
A good recipe gone bad because of the tenderizer, which Hubs never uses when he grills steaks. This cut of meat doesn't/shouldn't need tenderizer, let alone this much! Steak seasoning is good, as is olive oil, although Hubs says he doesn't really notice a difference with or without it. Porterhouse works great for us - he enjoys the strip portion and I prefer the tenderloin. Begin with steaks at room temperature. Let rest, covered, for about 5 minutes after cooking to allow juices to redistribute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States