Perfect Porterhouse Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
If you let the meat come to room temperature before cooking you will get a tender steak!! I tried it and it's true - now I always make sure they're room temp. before I cook them - TRY IT - IT WORKS!! I also use Montreal steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
It couldn't any easier. "Canadian Steak Seasoning" is made by McCormick. It is also available generically as "Master Choice" GREAT SHAKES - Grilled Steak Seasoning. This can be used for any type of steak - not just Porterhouse. Try it with chuck or round! Tenderizer and MSG can be sprinkled together or only one and not the other. Salty and spicy - high in sodium!!! Great for George Foreman type grills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I used McComrick's Montreal steak seasoning and fresh cracked pepper. I prepared these the morning of and let them sit wrapped in the fridge all day. Lightly brush the steaks with oil, you really only need a very light coat or you can end up with a grill fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
A porterhouse, like a t bone, is really two steaks; a strip (yuck) and a filet (yum). The strip side does need tenderizing, usually, but leave the filet side alone. A mechanical tenderizer is best for that strip side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
When listing ingredients, it would be good to say more accurately what some of them are. I.E. What is "Canadian seasoning?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
There's nothing better than a perfect porterhouse. It's the best of both world's - a strip on one side and a filet on the other. I rubbed the whole steak with a little olive oil, lightly scored the strip and rubbed McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning into it and let them rest until they got to room temp, no need for tenderizer. I left the filet side alone. Once these came off the grill I let some garlic butter melt over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Very simple - I use McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning whenever I am in a rush and just want a great cooked steak without much preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Tried this with garlic infused EVOO. It was wonderful. I also eliminated the meat tenderizer because I didn't have on hand. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
A good recipe gone bad because of the tenderizer, which Hubs never uses when he grills steaks. This cut of meat doesn't/shouldn't need tenderizer, let alone this much! Steak seasoning is good, as is olive oil, although Hubs says he doesn't really notice a difference with or without it. Porterhouse works great for us - he enjoys the strip portion and I prefer the tenderloin. Begin with steaks at room temperature. Let rest, covered, for about 5 minutes after cooking to allow juices to redistribute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
You can not go wrong with this recipe. There is nothing to it. It is so easy....simple. The taste is just amazing. Gotta try this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States