Perfect Porterhouse Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
so good and tender!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheftamara
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Tasted great!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
So simple, yet so full of flavor. Be sure to bring the meat to room temp and there is no need for the meat tenderizer (I have never added it). I also use this method often for other cuts of steak, pork chops and burgers. This works really well indoors using a grill pan or broiling when outside grilling is not an option. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Hard to oil grill when it's hot. Good steak doesn't need tenderizer. I use only cracked black pepper to season and a little kosher salt. Light olive oil is a good idea. May fry in oiled hot skillet 1 to 1 1/2 minutes per side. Best if juices do not run. (rare). May put some butter and chopped garlic in hot pan after steak removed, cook about 30 seconds, and pour over steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Most Porterhouse cuts are not that tough. Tends to make the meat mush. Save the tenderiser for a nice skirt steak. Course ground pepper along with your favorite steak seasoning is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I've been making my steak like this for years - any steak. I sometime use all of the ingredients (OO, tenderizer and steak seasoning) but mostly I just coat my steak with the seasoning (I use McCormicks Montreal Steak seasoning) I often leave out the tenderizer (you really don't need it) and depending on the cut of steak, I often don't use the OO - I prefer a nice rib-eye. I use a Forman Grille - preheated - rub the Montreal seasoning into the steak and then cook it for 6 min (EXACTLY) and you will get a fantastic med rare steak - perfect! As one other reviewer mentioned, letting the meat warm up to room temp - or close to room temp helps with the tenderness and I always let the steak sit for about 5 min before cutting it so the juices can soak back into the meat (ever have a steak where the first 2 or 3 bites were great, then it seemed too dry? That's why!) Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I USE GARLIC OIL AND MONTREAL STEAK SEASONING. HEAT YOUR GAS GRILL TO 450 DEG. LOOK AT YOUR GRILL AS IF IT WERE A CLOCK, PLACE YOUR STEAK AT ONE OCLOCK FOR NINETY SECONDS, THEN TURN TO FIVE OCLOCK AND COOK FOR TWO AND ONE HALF MINUTES, THEN TURN OVER AND COOK TWO OR THREE MINUTES FOR MEDIUM RARE. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
There's nothing better than a perfect porterhouse. It's the best of both world's - a strip on one side and a filet on the other. I rubbed the whole steak with a little olive oil, lightly scored the strip and rubbed McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning into it and let them rest until they got to room temp, no need for tenderizer. I left the filet side alone. Once these came off the grill I let some garlic butter melt over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
If you let the meat come to room temperature before cooking you will get a tender steak!! I tried it and it's true - now I always make sure they're room temp. before I cook them - TRY IT - IT WORKS!! I also use Montreal steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
A porterhouse, like a t bone, is really two steaks; a strip (yuck) and a filet (yum). The strip side does need tenderizing, usually, but leave the filet side alone. A mechanical tenderizer is best for that strip side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States