Perfect Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
These are great!! I tried something that may be helpful to other potential makers...I cut the pita bread in half and peeled each side apart, then cut into bite-sized pieces. I put the pieces, the oil, and the spices into a Ziploc freezer bag and just mixed everything up together and spread them out onto a non stick cookie sheet. Never have to spend so much money on store-bought chips again!! P.S. I also added some parmasan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKYNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Delicious! In fact they're so good, it's hard to eat just one! I added a little Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese to the seasoning mix and WOW they were awesome! You could eat them all by themselves but we dipped them in "Extra Easy Hummus" from this site which took them over the top. My only caution is watch your baking time as they can burn easily. Overall, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Being that I never made these I decided to follow this recipe, but I was worried about too much salt and I don't like garlic, so I only used the kosher salt. I used spray instead of brushing olive oil because that is what I had and they turned out perfect and yummy. What a simple healthy snack! I found it very easy to cut the pita with sicsors instead of with a knife or pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I found them way too salty.....my second batch...I just brushed with olive oil and sprinkled a bit of kosher salt and garlic powder and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I used whole wheat pita pockets I grabbed off the clearance rack. This did need a little more oil and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, only because I didn't want them too salty. I only had a piece (I'm watching my carbs) but the kids absolutely loved them--we had a "dippable dinner" night with tzatziki sauce and greek meatballs. I'll make them again only I think I'll use fresh garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These were super easy and can be tweaked to whatever flavor profile you're looking for. I used a variety of pitas (whole grain, light, whole wheat, etc) and they all turned out well. My guests really enjoyed these w/home made hummus. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I used to buy the "Naked" pita chips because my Dr told me to cut back on my salt intake, once you start eating that way everything seems to be so salty!!! I wanted to make my own pita chips to go with the home made roasted red pepper hummus....I used just a sprinkle of sea salt and parmesan cheese but no garlic. Yummy! Then I made a sweet treat for hubby and the kids using cinnamon sugar with a slight brush of butter, we use the to scoop vanilla ice cream....talk about happy campers!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindys Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were great! I cut them with a pizza cutter which was a lot faster. Also, be sure to put the leftovers in an air tight container so they remain crispy. My first batch got soggy after about a day when I had placed them a simple ziploc bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Pretty good. I only sprinkled sea salt and garlic powder, plus a little bit of paprika on them. I'm glad I only made 3 pita pockets because I couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
You can buy spray olive oil which works alot better and is so much quicker. I used all seasoning and garlic salt on mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States