Perfect Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I made these just as the recipe said, and they were fantastic. Next time I think I may try what another review said, tossing everything in a large ziploc bag, as I think that would be easier, and I'll add some parmesan cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I found them way too salty.....my second batch...I just brushed with olive oil and sprinkled a bit of kosher salt and garlic powder and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Being that I never made these I decided to follow this recipe, but I was worried about too much salt and I don't like garlic, so I only used the kosher salt. I used spray instead of brushing olive oil because that is what I had and they turned out perfect and yummy. What a simple healthy snack! I found it very easy to cut the pita with sicsors instead of with a knife or pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
You can buy spray olive oil which works alot better and is so much quicker. I used all seasoning and garlic salt on mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
These are great!! I tried something that may be helpful to other potential makers...I cut the pita bread in half and peeled each side apart, then cut into bite-sized pieces. I put the pieces, the oil, and the spices into a Ziploc freezer bag and just mixed everything up together and spread them out onto a non stick cookie sheet. Never have to spend so much money on store-bought chips again!! P.S. I also added some parmasan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKYNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Very good! Since others said it was too salty, I reduced the salt by half. Next time I'll leave it out altogether, and it will be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I only used the garlic powder. NO salt at all. I served along with Crab Dip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
1st batch I cut up in to 16 pieces (took the pita into to pieces and cut into 8ths) the covered both sides with oil/garlic/Salt (I made a mix)& use a pasty brush. They were good but too oily. Next Batch I cut into smaller bite and only greased 1 side :O) Perfect I love this recipe for $1.00 from the Dollar Store I was able to create a great snack that we can add different spices etc for quick nibbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
These are very good. Nice and crunchy. I also would cut the salt back as they are too salty. Put everything in a ziploc bag to mix. I added parm cheese as well and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
These were very good! I just sprayed them with cooking spray (to make them healthier) and only used the garlic powder and cracked sea salt. These went great with our hummus...YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States