Perfect Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Perfect pairing with luscious spinach artichoke dip from this site! I did just salt in place of the garlic salt. Very good and came out perfectly crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I see a few reviews that mention cutting back on salt and resorting to making their own chips. I am in that same boat and I love this recipe for that. Soooo simple and so versatile. Thanks for posting this! ~ Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plinee
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
When I saw the 1 Tbsp, of garlic powder I thought that it would be way to much, but as I always make the recipe exactly as it says the first time to give it a proper review I went with it. They were pretty good. Not too much garlic powder at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I needed chips for 2 dips I was making and I decided to try these. Why not make my own? Brilliant and oh so easy! I had made the Smokey Salmon Cat Food from this site along with spinach artichoke dip, strong flavors and I wanted a mild tasting chip. I used whole wheat pitas, Pam and garlic salt. That's it! Cut them into triangles and baked em up in no time. Watch very closely, easily go from perfect to trash in 0.6 seconds. LOL My Supervisor Loved them! Just right for any kind of dips or even stews/soups/chilli . Thank you Tarryn I will keep these and mind next time I need a chip for my dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good, easy and perfect with my cream cheese/pesto spread. I baked them for about 8-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Delicious! In fact they're so good, it's hard to eat just one! I added a little Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese to the seasoning mix and WOW they were awesome! You could eat them all by themselves but we dipped them in "Extra Easy Hummus" from this site which took them over the top. My only caution is watch your baking time as they can burn easily. Overall, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Pretty good. I only sprinkled sea salt and garlic powder, plus a little bit of paprika on them. I'm glad I only made 3 pita pockets because I couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
OMG ~ these are great, and so simple to make. I was completely fed up with the store-bought ones...always broken into tiny pieces too small for dipping or anything else. These are so fresh too...I won't be buying store-bought again. Followed directions exactly, only omitting the garlic powder since I was already serving with roasted garlic hummus. Next time will try the garlic powder, Parmesan and/or herbs which I'm sure are wonderful too. Separated the fronts and backs before brushing both with olive oil, cut into sixths, then put on large baking sheets. Only took 15 minutes in my oven...would have burned otherwise. Thanks ~ a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
A bit salty but still really good. I cut the pita into 6 triangle pieces and then pulled them apart to make thin chips. Watch them carefully in the oven so they don't burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These were delicious! I used only the salt & garlic powder and found them salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States