Perfect Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
These are so good and very easy to make and vary the flavor! I won't buy pita chips from the store again now that I have this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
very good and easy 1/2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
These turned out great the only reason not 5 stars is because I left out the garlic salt origionally specified and they were still soooo salty. Second time I cut salt in half and LIGHTLY covered in the garlic powder and they were perfect. We use the whole grain flax pita its soo good and we have played with seasonings and they always come out great but we like them plain the best. Great with spin dip or hummus drizzled w/evoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Very tasty, crispy. I like that I can choose whole wheat or flour pitas and I know exactly what is on my chip. I found I needed more olive oil than called for. I did split the pitas in half to make them go farther and reduced the baking time to 11-12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Excellent! I did not use the garlic salt as I am on a low sodium diet. Otherwise, I followed it as written. I love this recipe because it has so many other possibilities in terms of spice combinations. Can't wait to try more! Thanks Tarryn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Nice, crisp, salty and delicious. I made these to go with 'BLT Dip' from AR. I took them to card club and everyone enjoyed them. I liked how simple they were to make, and much cheaper than buying a bag of them. There is a lot less preservatives in a plain package of pita shells than there is a bag of pita chips. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is an excellent recipe that I will definitely be keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These are great chips. A little too thick for us, so here is what I did.... I used the tip of a very sharp knife to poke the pita around the edges. I then peeled the pita into 2 thin rounds. I brushed the insides with oil and seasoned with kosher salt (and whatever seasonings you choose). Then I flipped the rounds over and brushed the outsides. I was able to get 4 rounds (2 whole pita breads) per cookie sheet. I baked at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, turned over and baked for another 7 minutes. I have insulated cookies sheet, so it always takes longer to bake things. I will make these again! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runningmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I used whole wheat pita pockets I grabbed off the clearance rack. This did need a little more oil and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, only because I didn't want them too salty. I only had a piece (I'm watching my carbs) but the kids absolutely loved them--we had a "dippable dinner" night with tzatziki sauce and greek meatballs. I'll make them again only I think I'll use fresh garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
These turned out great. I only used kosher salt, garlic powder and paprika and didn't find the need to add garlic salt as well. 15 minutes was the perfect time for them to be crispy in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizzas

Put whatever you like on your own “pizza.” Then make a sweet one for dessert!

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States