Perfect Pineapple Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I have tried this chicken over and over, and each time I do something different to make it more flavorful. Take garlic and onions minced together, with salt and pepper. Rub it on the inside and outside, then put a medium peeled orange on the inside. Also, if you don't want to use onions, peel a head of garlic...and place the garlic pieces underneat the skin all over the chicken. Ginger is also a good spice to use. Peel and grate fresh ginger, rub it on the inside and outside of chicken. Hope this helps.... ps...i am the submitter of this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I would give this 5 stars for tenderness, but I gave this 4 stars since as some readers mentioned the original recipe was too bland for my tastes. I decided to jazz it up a little. First of all, I used a chicken cut into pieces (which saved me the trouble of basting since they were mostly covered in liquid). Also, I cut down on the butter by about half (I actually used margarine). I didn't have pineapple juice, so I used a can of pineapple chunks (liquid included). I also spiced it up with some hot paprika & an Italian chilli & garlic spice mix I had on hand (oregano,chilli, garlic, etc.) & stuck some fresh crushed garlic under the skin. I may have also stuck in a quartered onion, though I can't remember! What I do remember is that it was a big hit with my guests. So tender & such a lovely color! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I used 4 bone-in chicken breasts, and baked it for about an hour. I didn't really measure anything, but I added pineapple chunks with the juice, plenty of soy sauce, minced onion, salt & pepper, garlic (2 cloves), & lots of ground ginger. I made a thick sauce, using corn starch, with the resulting juice/broth after the chicken was cooked. I liked that, but my husband doesn't like sweet sauces with his meat. He thought the chicken was good, though. My 2 toddlers ate this pretty well, too. I agree that you can't taste the orange juice too much. Don't be afraid to add ginger; it's the perfect seasoning for this! And I think the pineapple chunks (or slices) are a MUST to make it tastier & more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahBcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This was a great "FIND"! Really very good, and easy. Pluss, it makes the kitchen smell so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Oh this was the BEST ever!! The chicken came out so nice & moist. I took it a little step further and I stuffed the chicken with a couple halves of oranges & some slices of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I used a whole cup of OJ and pineapple juice. I had to add water because the juice was burning to the bottom of the pan. It had no flavor of OJ or pineapple, but was very, very juicy. I used the remaining baste to make gravy which tasted great with the chicken (not so much the potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This is a great idea and I loved how easy it was. It was very moist but it lacked flavor. Maybe a little garlic or ginger or something would spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this last night, and it was great! My hubby liked as well as the kids. I followed some other reviews for flavor factor and placed a whole peeled orange inside the chicken. Also I used a full can of pineapple chunks, chunks inside chicken as well. I used a whole cup of each juice and seasoned chicken with salt and pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. I also added a couple splashes of worcestershire sauce while basting. I wish I had had fresh garlic to put under the skin. All in all, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This recipe was quick and easy. The chicken came out very moist. However, my family and I didn't think this was any better than any other baked chicken recipe. We couldn't really detect the orange or the pineapple flavor. I probably won't make this again but for a beginner it would make a really good recipe because it is practically no-fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Meat very moist but gravy a dissapointment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States