Perfect Pineapple Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This chicken turned out great for us and I thank you for making it available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yvonne
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I used Skinless, Boneless Breast Halves, (which shortened cooking time) 3/4 Pineapple Juice to 1/4 Orange and Lightly Seasoned one side of the chicken w/ Adobo (salt & pepper on both sides) I also added the pineapple slices during the last 1/3 hour of cooking..Family all agreed, the Flavor was really good, but the breast although tender was a lil bit dry.....whole chicken like the recipe calls for is probably best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this last night, and it was great! My hubby liked as well as the kids. I followed some other reviews for flavor factor and placed a whole peeled orange inside the chicken. Also I used a full can of pineapple chunks, chunks inside chicken as well. I used a whole cup of each juice and seasoned chicken with salt and pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. I also added a couple splashes of worcestershire sauce while basting. I wish I had had fresh garlic to put under the skin. All in all, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Oh this was the BEST ever!! The chicken came out so nice & moist. I took it a little step further and I stuffed the chicken with a couple halves of oranges & some slices of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Meat very moist but gravy a dissapointment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Not a whole lot of flavor but super moist chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I used 4 bone-in chicken breasts, and baked it for about an hour. I didn't really measure anything, but I added pineapple chunks with the juice, plenty of soy sauce, minced onion, salt & pepper, garlic (2 cloves), & lots of ground ginger. I made a thick sauce, using corn starch, with the resulting juice/broth after the chicken was cooked. I liked that, but my husband doesn't like sweet sauces with his meat. He thought the chicken was good, though. My 2 toddlers ate this pretty well, too. I agree that you can't taste the orange juice too much. Don't be afraid to add ginger; it's the perfect seasoning for this! And I think the pineapple chunks (or slices) are a MUST to make it tastier & more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahBcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I would give this 5 stars for tenderness, but I gave this 4 stars since as some readers mentioned the original recipe was too bland for my tastes. I decided to jazz it up a little. First of all, I used a chicken cut into pieces (which saved me the trouble of basting since they were mostly covered in liquid). Also, I cut down on the butter by about half (I actually used margarine). I didn't have pineapple juice, so I used a can of pineapple chunks (liquid included). I also spiced it up with some hot paprika & an Italian chilli & garlic spice mix I had on hand (oregano,chilli, garlic, etc.) & stuck some fresh crushed garlic under the skin. I may have also stuck in a quartered onion, though I can't remember! What I do remember is that it was a big hit with my guests. So tender & such a lovely color! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I have tried this chicken over and over, and each time I do something different to make it more flavorful. Take garlic and onions minced together, with salt and pepper. Rub it on the inside and outside, then put a medium peeled orange on the inside. Also, if you don't want to use onions, peel a head of garlic...and place the garlic pieces underneat the skin all over the chicken. Ginger is also a good spice to use. Peel and grate fresh ginger, rub it on the inside and outside of chicken. Hope this helps.... ps...i am the submitter of this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I used a whole cup of OJ and pineapple juice. I had to add water because the juice was burning to the bottom of the pan. It had no flavor of OJ or pineapple, but was very, very juicy. I used the remaining baste to make gravy which tasted great with the chicken (not so much the potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States