Perfect Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Best! Tasty and flaky! Easy for beginners. Not intimidating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
For some reason I followed all the steps and the crust was a little to dry so it would slit when I rolled it out. I am not too good at making pie crusts so maybe its just me :) Next time I will follow my instict because I kind of found it a little dry...but it was good and turned out not so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette from Quebec, Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
this was and easy to make pie crust that flattered the pie it held. i will definetly use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Scary as it was, I was forced to make a pie crust this year, as none of the pre-made ones were available here. I've had terrible results before, but this one was tasty! It was OK to make, but I had to keep adding liquid as it was quite dry and wouldn't stick together. The suggested part apple juice/part water was a great idea. WHEW! Finally a crust I now won't "sweat" about making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Stopped using shortening years ago, so used 1 cup salted, 1/2 cup unsalted butter and WOW! First time I ever loved leftover pie crust. I ate it all and went for more! Also, carefully floured and rerolled excess to make two more pies - one 8inch. one 9inch. A big hit at thanksgiving dinner and thereafter. Perfect Pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Not perfect. A little tough and cookie like. I made pies for Thanksgiving and saw people sawing with their forks to get through the crust to the plate. No one complained but they definitely had a struggle that should not come from eating a piece of pie! This recipe makes alot of dough. I rolled two crusts and still had enough to make three large discs to freeze. I will use those up but not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I've tried several pie crust recipes with mixed results. This pie crust recipe was very consistent, easy to roll and work with. I chilled the shortening (based on other recipes). I'm not sure if chilling helped or not. The recipe works well for me as I often bake a single crust pumpkin pie with a fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Indeed a perfect pie crust. Not soggy nor tasteless but perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
THIS PIE CRUST IS VERY EASY TO WORK WITH AND EASY TO MAKE ALSO TASTES GOOD FILLED WITH GRANDMA OPALS APPLE PIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Nice crust and easy to work. I use a cup of shortening and 1/2 cup butter for the flaky and richness I prefer. I used this for an apple pie I made with my daughter. We also sprinkled Cinnamon on top. Cinnamon makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States