Perfect Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I avoid making pie crusts like the plague. Every recipe I've tried comes out sticky and messy - but this one was absolutely perfect! I cut this recipe down and made two large crusts (more like 2 and a half) for a strawberry pie am just kicking myself for not making my own crust sooner. Very easy, very tasty - this truely is a perfect pie crust!! One trick I learned when it comes to pie crusts... before you start, put one or two pieces of plastic wrap on the counter top so that the plastic is a bit larger than the finished pie. Then roll the pie out as normal - but instead of having to worry about it sticking to the counter, you can just pick it up by the plastic wrap and turn it over into your pie pan. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
this is by far the best pie crust i have made. i tweaked it just a bit by using 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup shortening. you want to make sure that the butter is softened and your shortening cold. this gives it just a little bit more of a rich flavor. the key to the perfect consistency is using ICE COLD water. i don't mix the water with the egg yolk until right before adding to the flour mixture. i put about 4 ice cubes and water into a little shaker, then strain into the measuring cup with egg yolk to fill the cup. mix and test consistency. i had to use just a bit more water to get it right. for best results you could flatten dough into into discs, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate about 1/2 hour. this makes the crust perfect and very easy to work with. from this recipe i had enough for 2 pumpkin pies and one cherry (double crusted) pie. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanieAR13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I am so pleased to have found this recipe. I like pie crust, but I don't like most pie crust if that makes sense. I have been looking for years for a recipe that tastes good and I have finally found it. As a bonus, this crust is so easy to work with, I was able to pick it up and turn it as I rolled it in order to make a more perfect circle. I had no problems with tearing or stretching. This is the softest nicest crust I have ever worked with. This is also the first crust I was able to be patient enough with that I could make decorative edges on my pie. I also used the crust to make a lattice top on each of my pies and I had no issues with cracking when I bent the pieces to weave them, or with sticking when I picked them up off the table. In short, this is how pie crust should be. You may find that you need to add more water, a spoonful at a time until the dough holds together. I also substituted powdered sugar for the white sugar the second time I made the crust and I will keep doing this in the future. Finally, I also substituted butter for 2/3 of the shortening and still had a beautiful flaky crust. Also, this recipe makes more than enough dough for 2, 2 crust pies. I imagine it would be sufficient for 1 more 1 crust pie. We used our two cookie sheets worth of scraps as cookies with cinnamon sugar. yum. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I changed the recipe to serve 12. I did not use 1/2 the water called for with the egg yolk and the dough was very sticky. I remade it again using the right amount of water and it came out great. Don't forget to adjust the amount of water when adjusting the recipe..Jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Although this crust has a pleasant taste,it tastes more like a cookie to me. It was also very difficult to work with. It did not roll out easily for a 9 inch pie, but it did roll nicely in small amounts for cutting out the decorative shapes for the edges of the pie. After I added more shortening and water, and mixed it for 30 minutes, it became easier to work with. I have been looking for an easy flaky pie crust. This isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was the first pie crust that I made that tasted good and was very easy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen K

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Wonderful! I cut the recipe in half and used it for Blueberry Banana Cream Cheese Pie from this site and everyone raved about it! The only changes I made was using whole wheat pastry flour, which made it healthier too. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
GREAT RECIPE...I have been using it for years and get Rave reviews on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have been baking pies for years and trying to recreate my mother's prize winning pie crust without the results I was trying to achieve! This pie crust is very different from my mom's recipe and includes ingredients that she didn't use!! All I can say is "move over, Mom". This pie crust is awesome and the easiest to roll and fit to a pie plate or even a cookie sheet. It makes such a generous amount too which is great making multiple pies at a time; I did use 1/2 cup butter as was suggested by another someone else and made it in my food processor, the easiest crust I've ever made, thank you so much, I'll make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Scary as it was, I was forced to make a pie crust this year, as none of the pre-made ones were available here. I've had terrible results before, but this one was tasty! It was OK to make, but I had to keep adding liquid as it was quite dry and wouldn't stick together. The suggested part apple juice/part water was a great idea. WHEW! Finally a crust I now won't "sweat" about making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States