Perfect Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
After one flop with a different recipe, I went to my best source, Allrecipes.com. Found this and tried it...was making an apple pie for an "apple pie connoisseur" for his birthday. Received rave reviews from all, including me! It is was it says...easy and delish!! It will be my crust from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
If I can make this delicious pie crust, anyone can! I am a notoriously bad crust maker...now I have been redeemed! Thanks for saving my reputation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made no changes at all and it worked out beautifully! As someone who has struggled with making the perfect pastry, this recipe is a godsend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Great recipe, actually my first attempt at making pie crust and it turned out really well but I had to look elsewhere to find out how to actually cook this pie crust which was annoying. I didn't do any adjustments, I made it exactly as it and was happy with the results for lemon merangue pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I am a pure rookie when it comes to baking. Nothing like free, delicious fruit to get inspired to make something from scratch. I followed this recipe as written, and considered the suggestions and comments. This was the first time I ever baked ANYTHING from scratch and the crust of my peach pie turned out PERFECT!! Thanks everyone that contributed to this recipe (by comments and modifications)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I have made this a few times now for both sweet and savory dishes and it always comes out great. This is my easy "go to" recipe for pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I've been making pie crust since I was a kid and was never fully satisfied with any recipe...until now! I used butter instead of shortening because in my opinion the crust always tastes better that way. The last time I made this, I used half whole-wheat pastry flour and half unbleached white flour, but it was a little too wheaty, so next time I would probably just use one cup whole-wheat. It was perfect when I made it with all unbleached flour. This is the easiest dough to work with and turns out delicate and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
If you want a great pie cruset, look no further! I have made several recipes, including one that calls for vodka (!), but this one is the best by far. I used 1/2 C butter, 1/2 C butter-flavored Crisco, and 1/2 lard, and I cut the sugar to 2 T because I made it for a quiche, and it's still a little sweet, but I like it that way. Still, it's best for a dessert, rather than something savory. It's flaky and tender. It requires a little more tenderness when working with it, but it's worth it! Seriously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
A good basic pie crust recipe. I have no idea why you'd need three crusts though, so when you adjust the recipe to 2, make sure to adjust to 2/3 cup of water as well. Also be sure to switch for lard for a tastier and healthier crust (as healthy as pie crust gets, anyway ;))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Perfect ! Nothing more to say !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States