Perfect Parmesan Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I reduced the recipe to 6 servings and made one pizza, following the instructions exactly. I baked it for 20 minutes at 400F. The dough came together and rolled nicely. However, it did not rise. When I left it to rest 15 minutes, it stayed inert. When I cooked it, the bottom crisped up, but the rest stayed thin and doughy. I'm not sure if it was the requirement of cold water that did it... doesn't yeast (even instant yeast) usually need warm water to grow? Maybe I'll try this again with warm water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I cut this recipe in half and used warm water instead of cold. Then I let the dough rise for about an hour before I rolled it out. It was good. The Parmesan adds nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is such an unbelievable, probably best tasting pizza dough I have yet made. With some minor modifications this can be one of your favorite pizza dough recipes as well. I didn't have instant rise yeast so I used a package of rapid rise yeast instead, since I did this alternation I used warm water instead of the cold. I added a teaspoon of garlic powder to the dry ingredients and after kneading the dough I covered and let rise for about 2-3 hours until the dough doubled. I then divided into 4 balls and refrigerated remaining dough I wasn't going to use. When I have baked this at a 525 degree oven for 10 min my white pizza came out better than an authentic brick oven pizzeria (thats what my husband said). Overall just amazing! I never tried parmesan pizza dough before and now it will probably be my all time fav!! A must for a white pizza recipe!!! Try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This recipe IS a "keeper" I too DID NOT have INSTANT YEAST...Iused RED STAR RAPID RISE YEAST and used WARM WATER mixed all ingredients in my food processor ..allowed dough to REST for 10 min. (This way the crust stayed THIN which We prefer)It rolled out perfectly Baking it on on a preheated pizza baking stone at oven temp. 450! LOVE the added parmesan taste in the crust!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
really good, really easy - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Thanks for sharing the recipe. My pizza dough never turns out. I followed this recipe without making any changes and it was perfect. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I loved this recipe. Probably the best pizza dough recipe I have found. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
It is a great recipe but I altered it slightly to suit my needs. I have made this recipe three times already and I used normal yeast (no such thing as instant or rapid in my local shop) and so I used warm water and let it rise for a couple of hours. I also came to the conclusion that other types of cheese (emental, cheddar etc.) are equally good. I found this out when I ran out of parmesan and I was too lazy to go buy just the parmesan when I had other great cheeses at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I make pizza weekly in my house I came across this recipe and it sounded good! Over all I like the crust mine was thin and crispy I did use warm water not cold! my only complaint was I could not taste the parmesan cheese so next time ill probably just leave it out all together! I will use this recipe again thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Good recipe but the directions are vague. For anyone new to cooking, Quick-Rise instant yeast is the same as Fast-Rising, Rapid-Rise and/or Bread Machine Yeast. Also, the directions don't tell you to pre-bake the crust before you add the toppings. I pre-baked the crust for 5 minutes at 400*F, topped the pizza and then baked an additional 8-10 minutes. I didn't taste the parmesan cheese, so that could be eliminated if you don't have any or need to make it milk free. It's a good recipe for when you want pizza but don't have the hours to spend waiting for your dough to rise. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States