Perfect Mixed Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellenmoriah
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I've been making mixed greens for years and have never come across a recipe that calls for sugar. I honestly planned to add the sugar, but when push came to shove, I couldn't do it. Instead, I sweetened greens the way I always have: caramelized onions. I diced one large onion and cooked it in olive oil (I didn't have vegetable oil, but olives are veggies, right?). Anyway, I sauteed them over low heat for 25 minutes... until the onions turned lightly brown. Caramelized onions will sweeten anything with a depth that can make you swoon. So okay... I couldn't bring myself to resort to sugar. My tried and true worked just fine. The end result was tasty indeed. I washed and rinsed the greens in broth, as directed but I'm not sure the broth made any difference. I didn't add 2 c. of broth to the pot because covered greens will steam — using the pot's heat — making for denser vitamins and minerals. And the cooking time is a little less without added water or brother (closer to 40 minutes than an hour. I added the garlic toward the end of the cooking to avoid burning it. The bacon bits were a nice addition to my usual recipe (I normally add a small amount of red pepper flakes), so that made for a nice change. I can give it a recommendation to try it (ideally with caramelized onions): mixed greens are so very good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I used these seasonings on frozen turnip greens. My husband and 5 yr old ate this no questions asked. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYB75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I agree. I'd never add 1/2 cup sugar. I don't need sweet greens. If I want to bring out the flavor of veggies with sugar, I usually add a very small amount. If I needed it any sweeter than a couple of tsp. would add, then I'd certainly caramalize the onions rather than use sugar. I don't care for bacon bits, but if I needed pork flavor, I'd fry out 2 - 3" slices of salt pork, fry it, and then put the cooked pieces in my pot of greens; just don't over do the added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
So-so recipe, but I never add sugar. I use smoked turkey wings ( normally just one) for seasoning instead of ham hocks or salt pork. Boil the wings until the meat falls off the bone and all them to the greens to cook. I will add seasoning salt & pepper, some red pepper flakes, and a dash of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honeydew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made thee for New Years dinner and they were TERRIFIC - would highly recommend this recipe to all my friends. I only used collards and turnip greens though since I'm not a fan of mustard greens. Also used ham hock instead of bacon bits. My daughter who isn't a fan of greens ate them like crazy and even ate somemore the next day. Even told me to make sure I save this recipe for futue use. And my almost 2 year old grandson couldn't get enough of them. Far cry from the 'mess' I attempted last year - will definetly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipe was great.. I only had turnip greens but they still came out delicious.. Next time I will make sure I have all three types of greens..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmurphy09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Great Just like my Mama's !!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is my first time to ever fix greens. I received 10 oz. mustard greens, 10 oz. turnip greens, and not quite 16 oz. collards in my CSA box. I cut this recipe in half and followed the directions...all except for the amount of sugar. I added only 1 T. and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I might use less sugar next time. Very easy to make. Used a chicken bullion paste. Kids loved it. Used with mustard greens and beet green tops. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I also omitted the sugar in favor of onions that I carmelized in the bacon grease. Instead of boiling, I sautéed using less liquid in a covered pan. All I had was turnip greens and kale, but it worked just fine. Delish, thanks for the recipie and the review comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States