Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
great recipe, i think it is some work but good, i put 2 stalks of celery, 2 carrots, 2 tbsp of mushroom, 3/4 onion, tomato paste 6 oz, and i used a live lobster, i let it cook in the sauce till done, and then i picked meat from the lobster. let some of the body of the lobster marinate in the cooking process, and i also used clam juice, it is very tasty, and can be expensive, for special occassions, i will make again , thank you from florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
i give this recipe 4 stars because i , like other reviewers altered the recipe some. i omitted the celery and mushrooms,added 4 oz. of tomatoe paste, a splash of clam juice and doubled the cayenne pepper, oh and used whole milk in place of the half and half. everyone loved it and raved about it. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is the Perfect Lobster Bisque. It was a plus that I had my own home-made lobster stock to add. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Fantastic recipe! My only issue was a minor mistake of the Cayenne pepper slipping and an undetermined amount of cayenne went into the soup. I did manage to scoop some out,however a good amount remained in it. Everyone was very impressed and asked for seconds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I found the soup a little thin (perhaps it's my personal liking), so I started in another pot with a roux base (4 TBS each butter, flour and some milk) and added it to the soup. It's a WOW! My family and guests loved it. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was a great recipe! My fiance thought it was so much better than the upscale restaurant here in town...the only things I did differently from the recipe was to add some roasted red bell pepper strips (from a jar) during the simmering, then used sherry instead of white wine (just to taste...don't measure too often!). I swear I could have eaten the broth prior to adding the lobster! Absolutely fantastic, and so quick & simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I've used this recipe with some modifications based on all of the reader reviews & it always comes out great. I use my hand blender to blend the vegetables & seafood, because I found that transferring to the countertop blender was too messy. Also, I add clam juice instead of broth, as it gives it more of a seafood flavor, and I skip the wine. I also use just celery & onions and not the carrots & mushrooms. I also use imitation crab & lobster meat sometimes, or throw in scallops and/or shrimp. The base is excellent, and the cayenne pepper gives it just enough kick! I forgot to mention that I also add a small can of tomato paste and blend it with the vegetables and broth/clam juice. It helps thicken the bisque a bit and also gives it more flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
DELICIOUS! I was very nervous to try a somewhat expensive recipe just to botch it up. This was not the case. I used heavy cream instead of half and half in an attempt to thicken the bisque (I think a flour/water mixture would also do the trick). For the wine, I used a basic white port purchased at the liquor store. My boyfriend and I really liked it and I'm sure I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
One of the best I have ever had! I did add a little more cayenne pepper to spice it up just a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this for friends who love Lobster bisque, 20 of them, and it got rave reviews. I used the Shells to flavor the soup and strained it through a sieve, chopped up the tail meat and sauted with butter for a garnish and it was a huge success. Otherwise followed the recipe. good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States