Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CPoirier22
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Delicious! Based on the other reviews, we skipped the wine, used clam broth for chicken broth, 1/2 a can of tomato paste, and 1/2 the cayenne. Next time we'll double the recipe for 6 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this a few days ago, and it was great! I used clam juice instead of chicken broth and added some cooking Sherry and tomato paste as suggested by other reviewers and it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The 1/2 cup of wine is WAY too much. It ruined the bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadsolomon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
you will have to make alot of changes to this recipe, so i am not sure why it has rated so high. I chose to make this recipe exactly as directed and without any extras. Although the taste of the lobster bisque was very nice, i could not get the butter to cook in it just sat on top of the soup. As well the soup itself was very thin and runny, not thick as it sould be. As long as you have time to be creative i am sure that this could eventually be a nice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was a wonderful bisque! I left out the mushrooms, used a bottle of clam juice and half the chicken broth, added 1/2 can tomato sauce and used crawfish tails instead of lobster. Huge hit - the pot was scraped clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was a great way to use up leftover lobster. I had to use condensed milk since I had no half-and-half. I also didn't have any chicken broth, so I added a can of bar clams with their juice. I also added a chili pepper, a clove of garlic and a tablespoon of tomato paste. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This recipe is great, but I did make a few modifications. First I chopped all the veggies together in a food processor. I then sauted them for a few minutes while I was chopping up the lobster. I did place some of the lobster in the food processor to get a noce texture for the bisque. I left the remaining lobster in slightly bigger chunks to make the bisque a little hardier. All in all the recipe came out great and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
used fresh lobsters and boiled the chick broth with the lobster shells for a while. Great flavor...excellent. Could have been a little thicker and may make a small rue first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwilliam01
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Perfect base bisque. I played with some ingredients, to the veg ingredients I added some cilantro, chili peppers and chopped clams in there juice. I used the clam juice to substitute for the chicken broth, I used a 1/8 of salt & an 1/8 of chili powder and 4 pressed garlic cloves. It gave it a mellow bite and needless to say"It was bangin" This dish will definitely be appearing on my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H-Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My husband and I had this dinner tonight and this is an easy and delicious recipe. As suggested by others, I added more mushroom,carrots, celery, garlic than called for because without it would have been like water. Also, I added 3/4 can of tomato paste which is absolutely neccessary, as is the cayenne pepper. I changed none of the liquid ingredients. This is definitely a keeper. Oh, almost forgot. Besides the 1 lb. fresh lobster, I added 7 large shrimp and a can of lump crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States