Perfect Lemon Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Left a super bad aftertaste & looked a little slimey. I was embarassed to serve it to my family. Check out a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Great Recipe 5 stars! Will be making this one again! I used pecans instead of almonds. I lightly sprinkled powder sugar while still warm on the top. Make sure they are cool before cutting as per the recipe. Also, left out the coconut flakes! Not a big fan of coconut. Thank you for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
tart, tasty, tangy! leave out the cooconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These a really the perfect lemon squares!! I sub. pecans for the almonds and doubled that amount. I also doubled the coconut. They were great and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DZRTJUL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
this was yummy! i didn't have any almonds so i just made the crust without it. i'm undecided about the crust maybe if i add the almonds it would have been perfect. i'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
These turned out SO much better than I thought they would! Very lemony, but I made sure to increase the lemon zest to 3 tablespoons. I ended up using the zest from 6 lemons, and the juice from 4 lemons. I subbed in half a cup of veggie oil, because I was short on butter, and I added an extra tablespoon of both ground pecans (no almonds =/) and flour to the filling/topping, and gave the the topping an extra 5 minutes in the oven because of the "slimy" comment, and they turned out great. Only caveat here was the crust, it was a tad dry and needed extra time in the oven to brown, but I suspect my pan was too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I made these as directed except I didn't add the coconut. Everyone loved the crust and the filling has a great texture. The only thing I didn't care for was the color. Because of the brown sugar they don't have that bright lemon color. A small shake of powdered sugar on the top before serving makes them a little more attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Love2Cook
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Delicious. Perfect blend of sweet and tart. Easy to make. Had no problems with the filling solidifying. Followed the recipe exactly, except I did not toast the coconut. I'll definitely make again, and again, and again. Thanks Sierra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Not your everyday lemon bars. Good, but I like a stronger lemon flavor. I also agree with other reviewers about the coconut. I like coconut, so included it, but I think it reduced the lemon flaver. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 9 x 13 pan. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is a very delicious recipe! I love the addition of coconut - brilliant! I added a bit more lemon zest, but beyond that, I didn't change a thing and they were as beautiful as they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States