Perfect Lemon Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
this was yummy! i didn't have any almonds so i just made the crust without it. i'm undecided about the crust maybe if i add the almonds it would have been perfect. i'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
tart, tasty, tangy! leave out the cooconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Great Recipe 5 stars! Will be making this one again! I used pecans instead of almonds. I lightly sprinkled powder sugar while still warm on the top. Make sure they are cool before cutting as per the recipe. Also, left out the coconut flakes! Not a big fan of coconut. Thank you for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These a really the perfect lemon squares!! I sub. pecans for the almonds and doubled that amount. I also doubled the coconut. They were great and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DZRTJUL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe is delicious, but I added 3 tablespoons more lime juice because as it was I couldn't taste any lime flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Left a super bad aftertaste & looked a little slimey. I was embarassed to serve it to my family. Check out a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
good recipe, i found that the lemon taste was a bit strong but other than that it was great. i'd advise putting some powdered sugar on top once you've finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Not your everyday lemon bars. Good, but I like a stronger lemon flavor. I also agree with other reviewers about the coconut. I like coconut, so included it, but I think it reduced the lemon flaver. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 9 x 13 pan. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I made these as directed except I didn't add the coconut. Everyone loved the crust and the filling has a great texture. The only thing I didn't care for was the color. Because of the brown sugar they don't have that bright lemon color. A small shake of powdered sugar on the top before serving makes them a little more attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
These turned out SO much better than I thought they would! Very lemony, but I made sure to increase the lemon zest to 3 tablespoons. I ended up using the zest from 6 lemons, and the juice from 4 lemons. I subbed in half a cup of veggie oil, because I was short on butter, and I added an extra tablespoon of both ground pecans (no almonds =/) and flour to the filling/topping, and gave the the topping an extra 5 minutes in the oven because of the "slimy" comment, and they turned out great. Only caveat here was the crust, it was a tad dry and needed extra time in the oven to brown, but I suspect my pan was too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States