Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious enough to eat alone. I would add additional thickening if I wanted to use as a pie filling, though. I strained the end product to remove the rind any egg that might have curdled, and because I didn't want to watch for seeds when juicing lemons :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Excellent Lemon curd! I did end up with a couple little pieces of egg, but no one else would have ever noticed. My advice is to keep the heat as low as you can and never stop mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was exactly what I was looking for - like lemonade but goopy, haha! I might have been a *little* generous about the sugar, I didn't want to risk puckering. Very good directions in the comments to help the process go easier, I had never had to deal with tempering eggs before, and this turned out perfectly the first attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
It took me about thirty minutes over low heat to get this to thicken, and even tempering the eggs I ended up having to strain it. I've since learned that there is a microwave lemon curd recipe on this site- I think I would try that one if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Photo by sarahjean
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Delicous! I doubled the lemon zest. Also melted the butter and sugar on low heat until the sugar was dissolved then added the lemon juice which cooled down the mixture a bit before i added the eggs last so they didnt cook. I then turned up the heat a bit and stirred until thick. A great way to use up lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahjean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
OMG!!! This lemon curd is to die for - SO easy and quick, and tastes exactly like the curd my grandmother used to make. I have chickens and a lemon tree - now I know exactly what I will be doing with all the extra lemons and eggs I get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielMac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
YUMMY!!! I made this just because I could but then ended up using it in a Lemon Bar recipe. Delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I made this custard for a birthday gift for someone who considers themselves a lemon custard connoiseur - it was very well recieved. The four stars is due to methods - I used a double boiler to heat the lemon zest and juice first, wisked the eggs with the sugar seperately and temepered the eggs before adding them to the double boiler and getting it thick that way. I made the Butter Flaky Pie Crust and served it with fresh blackberries on top. FANTASTIC!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I love the flavor of this lemon curd. I've made it a few times now... and it loses a star for method rather than taste and texture. I have found that when I cook this on the stove in a saucepan it's all too easy to have the eggs curdle, so I've changed methods to the double boiler. This does take about 3 times as long, but makes a sinfully rich, smooth custard. I add everything but the butter, then once it's starting to get hot enough to melt it, I add the butter a few cubes at a time, letting it mostly melt between addings. Then I dump the whole thing thru a strainer into another bowl, cause any time you are cooking with eggs, it's best to strain cause there are always a few chunky bits you don't want in your custard. Love this on crepes, scones, muffins... with a spoon! Thanks for a wonderful treat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Deliscious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreemernluv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States