Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
YUMMY!!! I made this just because I could but then ended up using it in a Lemon Bar recipe. Delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I made this custard for a birthday gift for someone who considers themselves a lemon custard connoiseur - it was very well recieved. The four stars is due to methods - I used a double boiler to heat the lemon zest and juice first, wisked the eggs with the sugar seperately and temepered the eggs before adding them to the double boiler and getting it thick that way. I made the Butter Flaky Pie Crust and served it with fresh blackberries on top. FANTASTIC!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I love the flavor of this lemon curd. I've made it a few times now... and it loses a star for method rather than taste and texture. I have found that when I cook this on the stove in a saucepan it's all too easy to have the eggs curdle, so I've changed methods to the double boiler. This does take about 3 times as long, but makes a sinfully rich, smooth custard. I add everything but the butter, then once it's starting to get hot enough to melt it, I add the butter a few cubes at a time, letting it mostly melt between addings. Then I dump the whole thing thru a strainer into another bowl, cause any time you are cooking with eggs, it's best to strain cause there are always a few chunky bits you don't want in your custard. Love this on crepes, scones, muffins... with a spoon! Thanks for a wonderful treat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Deliscious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreemernluv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amydoll
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Very good, definitely on the tart side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I don't know what went wrong here. I have made lemon curd in the past. I never had a problem with it. I mixed everything off the heat (in a glass bowl) then placed over a pan of simmering water and whisked until thickened. It LOOKED wonderful. It tasted AWFUL! I don't know what happened! I used fresh lemons, fresh eggs, added a little extra sugar...it had a metallic taste. My whisk was metal. That's the only metal that was used. I've never had this problem with my whisk before. I think I'll just go back to my old lemon curd recipe. This one just didn't work for me. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Yum! Strained it - it needed it. Beautiful color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was so easy to make and so good to eat! I used powdered lemon peel instead of the zest and it was perfect with scones and madeleines. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was very easy to make and has a wonderful balance of tartness and sweetness - I mixed all of the ingredients in a bowl first - first the butter and sugar and then added the eggs and then the lemon - as was suggested by another person on here - it worked really well and then all you have to do is heat it till it thickens! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is the best. I use it all the time to make lemon tarts and also use it as a spread on tea biscuits and toast.If it were possible I would rate it a ten.I've given the recipe to my eldest sone and it has become his signature recipe for lemon tarts. Whenever he is invited to a dinner party ( after many hints )he opts to provide the dessert made with this and boughten tart shells.For a nice quick dessert put a tart on a dessert plate top with some fresh raspberries and add a swirl of melted good dark chocolate around the rim of the tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States