Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I wanted Orange curd but I can't buy any decent lemon curd in South Africa and nobody has heard of orange curd but I wanted this for a fantastic chocolate orange tart. I just changed the lemons for oranges; absolutely fantastic. I didn't bother to try the other recipes I found on the net. About eggs curdling, I use a stoneware pot that I cook everything with eggs in, sauces, etc which I put in the pan with boiling water. The water boils but the eggs don't curdle. It's a slow method but worth every minute as there's no fear of any burning either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I did find however I needed to wisk it in a double boiler, I simply place a bowl over simmering water. This removes the danger of scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a good base recipe. In the end, I added the juice of an extra lemon since the curd had more of a butter taste than lemon. It was still good, but not as lemony as one would expect and hope. A couple of changes I will make next time: 1- use egg yolks (no whites). Although I combined all ingredients before even turning on the heat, I still had bits of cooked egg whites that I had to strain; 2 - use 5 or 6 tablespoons of butter instead of an entire stick. Also, it took my mixture nearly 15 minutes to begin bubbling. Still, this recipe is a great jumping off point for those of us who had never attempted to make lemon curd before. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made this lemon curd for a cake filling and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe and super simple. I was very surprised at how quickly it set as well- less than the given time at medium heat on my electric range.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
It took all that was in me to stop myself from taking a spoon to this and going to town. It's that good. I thought it had the perfect amount of lemon flavor and a great consistancy. I creamed the butter and sugar together before adding the eggs and lemon, stirred and then added to the saucepan and had no issues whatsoever with my eggs cooking or it taking a year and a half to thicken. If I was standing at the stove for more than 10 minutes with this one, I'd be shocked. You can bet on the fact that this will be used again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
excellent recipe, but it is very few portion, so the second time i`ve done double, besides i put it in 1 tbspoon of corn starch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too much butter and it takes much longer than it says. I added a teaspoon of lemon extract too for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I decided to try this recipe since my other one takes a little longer to make. I just finnished making this and it did not thicken up as much as I had originally thought. I did temper my eggs but after returning the mixture to the heat it was taking a long time to thicken. So in fear of curdling my eggs I took it off the stove. Even though it was still a little runny I whisked in some gelatin while it was still hot to try and thicken it and it did help some. Then I added my butter after it cooled some and it did set up a little nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Amazing and very simple lemon curd. If you are getting cooked egg white pieces in your curd you are not whisking enough and probably have your heat to high. I made a lower calorie lemon cake (mixing cake mix and 1 can diet cherry 7up) baked the cake in two 8 inch cake pans. When I layered the cake I covered each layer in the lemon curd (kind of undid the whole lower calorie thing but oh well) anyway this lemon curd made my cake amazing!!!! I finished the cake off with some low fat cool whip. It was a big hit at our Easter lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States