Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly...I used a mixer and blended the sugar and butter, then added the eggs, then added the juice and zest. Then transferred to stove. Had no problems with mini pieces of scrambled eggs...however, I did pass it through a sieve to get rid of the zest once finished cooking. Make sure you keep on stiring this the whole time! Took mine at least ten minutes. After it had cooled a little, I tasted it and it was very tart so I added more sugar until it fit my personal preference. I made this recipe for a filling for a cake--mine definitely thickened up but I think it was too thin for cake filling (cake may just absorb it all). Next time I make this, I will DEFINITELY add cornstarch to make it really really thick and add more sugar...overall, a great base recipe to try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Consistency turned out really well. Flavour a bit tart for my liking on scones (or eating with spoon), but will keep for when I want a more tart lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Goettert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oropi, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Searched for 9 years to duplicate a Lemon Curd we had on our Honeymoon in Maine. Finally found its PERFECT match.***Try on Zucchini bread***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I have made this recipe at least ten times now and it always turns out great. I have served it with scones for tea and everyone always loves it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I have made this several times now. I omit the zest and use 1/2 stick butter=1/4 cup. To avoid any cooked egg bits I cream the butter and sugar then add eggs one at a time mixing well after each. Then add lemon juice then heat. Takes about 15-20 minutes to thicken, stir constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I was trying to come up with something to give my friend (one of those people who shops constantly and has EVERYTHING!!) for her birthday. She absolutely loves lemon curd so.... Turns out this was the all time favorite gift for her. I kept a little bit back for myself for tasting and found it quite tart but excellent. The consistency and flavor is perfect. I didn't have any lemon rind on hand so made it without. Next time I'll be certain to put it in for an added zing. This recipe is a must for all who enjoy a nice lemon flavor with plenty of tartness but enough sweetness for a godd balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I am not sure what went wrong. I followed the directions to a T, and this came out soupy, it did not thicken on the stove at all. Maybe the directions need to be altered to give it a longer time to thicken. Another problem I had was when I put this in the fridge to thicken and cool, the butter separated from the curd and formed a hard butter "shell" over it. I was going to use this in a lemon cake for the filling but I can't have junks of butter floating in it. Also- I thought this should be a smooth and silky consistency, somewhat like a lemon meringue pie would be, but this was junky and nothing like the lemon filling I was expecting. I only gave this a 3 for the flavor, great strong lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The flavor of this lemon curd is really good--the three stars are for the incomplete directions. An inexperienced cook would definitely mess this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Blanchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I used Peachy28's suggested method and I have PERFECT, creamy, smooth curd sitting in my fridge right this moment. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Word to the wise, this recipe is great, and easy to make.. but don't make the mistake of making it in a reactive pot or double boiler (i.e. made of metal) unless you're a big fan of the flavor of metal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcadiaBoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States