Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I am not sure what went wrong. I followed the directions to a T, and this came out soupy, it did not thicken on the stove at all. Maybe the directions need to be altered to give it a longer time to thicken. Another problem I had was when I put this in the fridge to thicken and cool, the butter separated from the curd and formed a hard butter "shell" over it. I was going to use this in a lemon cake for the filling but I can't have junks of butter floating in it. Also- I thought this should be a smooth and silky consistency, somewhat like a lemon meringue pie would be, but this was junky and nothing like the lemon filling I was expecting. I only gave this a 3 for the flavor, great strong lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The flavor of this lemon curd is really good--the three stars are for the incomplete directions. An inexperienced cook would definitely mess this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I used Peachy28's suggested method and I have PERFECT, creamy, smooth curd sitting in my fridge right this moment. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Word to the wise, this recipe is great, and easy to make.. but don't make the mistake of making it in a reactive pot or double boiler (i.e. made of metal) unless you're a big fan of the flavor of metal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcadiaBoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe is great. The curd is just the right balance of lemony and sweet. Once it bubbled, I added about 1/2 tablespoon of cornstarch to help it solidify a bit more. My friend and I made this and gave it with gingerbread cakes for Christmas gifts. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
A great lemon curd. Wonderfully tart lemon flavour. It makes a great filling for tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Just like the name says-Perfect. I put it on top of a baked pavlova, but I will find many more uses for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Debby Farmer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Great recipe thats easy to make. I also used fresh keylime juice in place of the lemon juice and it was great as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Nice and lemony and not too sweet. Make sure you stir CONSTANTLY. I cooked on low heat for the first while and then med-low to thicken at the end. I used extra lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States