Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Makes a great lemon curd with a tart kick to it but not enough to make you pucker:) It is a little on the loose side for a cake filling which is what I use it for but easy to make. Just be prepared to stand at the stove stirring for a long time. I have made twice and both times it takes me 20 mins of constant stirring to avoid the scrambled eggs effect. I cook mine on a 3.5 on my stove, 5 being medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Never having searched for a recipe for it, making lemon curd seemed intimidating. I located this recipe and made it for a bridal shower. It was simple enough to make, and it was a hit! I'll never buy it again. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is amazing! And not hard at all. It did take about 15 min to get to the thickness on low but I just kept whisking and it came out perfect! The best lemon curd I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I really liked it. I combined 2 recipes including this one to make a lemon custard pie. It turned out great!! It was even good for having it in the fridge. Was a huge hit my little brother loved it! Just make sure you whisk the eggs before hand and don't use to much lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is on the sweet side, but I used it in another recipe so it worked fine. There is another recipe on AR that is more tart that if you want a more tart curd, other than that it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It works great. Mix all ingredients creamed together and cook about ten minutes. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyla Jo Nye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have dreamed of making lemon curd since I heard of it in a tea-time recipe book when I was seven. However, the recipe was so complicated, and my greatest fear when baking is that I'll make a flop! When I found this recipe, it looked so simple and really was! As other cooks suggested, I heated up the lemon juice, add the sugar and eggs (I used 6 yolks instead), all beaten up, and whisked constantly on med-low until thick- ten minutes. Then I added 1/4 c butter. The next time I want to make lemon curd, I'll know exactly where to go!!! YUM!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Just like the name of it, it's PERFECT! I've made other recipes I found online & this is by far the best. Definitely dissolve everything but the eggs first. Gradually add already scrambled eggs after taking the mixture off the burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is a great curd. Holds up well, doesn't sweat, and is very tangy, which I love. I made it 2 days before and refrigerated to use in mini pies. Note, to avoid the egg issue do the following: melt the butter (in the microwave) and then put all ingredients but the eggs in a sauce pan. Use an immersion blend (or whisk) to blend everything and then add one egg at a time blending thoroughly. After everything is blended, then bring it to a boil. By incorporating the eggs first, you will avoid the boiled egg issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a really great recipe and is lovely and incredibly tasty every time. However,I would definitely suggest leaving the heat on low the entire time. Otherwise, the eggs cook too much and you have to sift them out. It's a bit like eggnog in that sense - don't overcook it! :) Otherwise, this is an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States