Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made my curd using the exact ingredients of this recipe, but I changed the way I put them together based on recommendations I received from someone on the Buzz. And it worked PERFECTLY! I creamed the butter and sugar just like I was going to make cookies or cake. Then I added the eggs one at a time, beating until very fluffy each time. Then I added the lemon juice and zest. When it was fully mixed, I poured it into a pan and heated it on stovetop, stirring constantly. It gave me perfect curd with no egg curdles! Like magic! Oh, yum! Now it's used as a filling in a birthday cake with some leftovers for my toast! Yummy! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Better than my English mum used to make! I doubled the recipe - except the butter (left it at 1/2 cup) and sugar (used 1 1/4 cups). I mixed juice, eggs & sugar and cooked on low but it took about 20 minutes. I added the butter and zest when it was done and off the heat. My children loved it and my 12 year old daughter said it was better than chocolate! I used it for an anniversary cake filling and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and received many compliments. I frequently make adjustments to recipes but this one is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I bake quite a bit, and this was a first try success. I had leftover egg yolk from a cake, so I used 4 egg yolks + 1 whole egg. It turned out perfectly. I didn't have any trouble with the egg cooking too fast as several reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Just made this recipe and OMG, it is so GOOD. Easy to make and doesn't take a whole lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Excellent and super easy. It really does require constant stirring to make it set right without lumps. The taste was delicious and perfect with scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Follow the suggestions by SIDCAES and this recipe works beautifully. This was my first attempt at making curd and it was very easy. Tempering the eggs is key. I also followed the suggestion and reduced butter to 1/4 cup. Thank you for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I was trying to conserve on the amount of eggs I was using, so I tried this recipe. I had the pot on super low, but I still got 3 spots of scrambled egg whites, so strain it. I'm a pretty good chef, so I think the scrambling has to do with the temp control for beginners, but also with how many egg yolks vs egg whites the recipe uses. I used another recipe before and didnt have any scrambled. I like my lemon curd tart, so I added more lemon juice and a 1/4 cup of lemon zest. Kept the sugar the same. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
this is a very good, simple recipe. It's i tiny bit lacking in flavor so suggest adding about 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract. It make ALL the difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My friend and I made this to fill the layers of a lemon cake (the Lemon Fluff Cake by Carol on Allrecipes), and it was absolutely Perfect. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States