Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I really liked it. I combined 2 recipes including this one to make a lemon custard pie. It turned out great!! It was even good for having it in the fridge. Was a huge hit my little brother loved it! Just make sure you whisk the eggs before hand and don't use to much lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is on the sweet side, but I used it in another recipe so it worked fine. There is another recipe on AR that is more tart that if you want a more tart curd, other than that it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It works great. Mix all ingredients creamed together and cook about ten minutes. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyla Jo Nye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have dreamed of making lemon curd since I heard of it in a tea-time recipe book when I was seven. However, the recipe was so complicated, and my greatest fear when baking is that I'll make a flop! When I found this recipe, it looked so simple and really was! As other cooks suggested, I heated up the lemon juice, add the sugar and eggs (I used 6 yolks instead), all beaten up, and whisked constantly on med-low until thick- ten minutes. Then I added 1/4 c butter. The next time I want to make lemon curd, I'll know exactly where to go!!! YUM!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Just like the name of it, it's PERFECT! I've made other recipes I found online & this is by far the best. Definitely dissolve everything but the eggs first. Gradually add already scrambled eggs after taking the mixture off the burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is a great curd. Holds up well, doesn't sweat, and is very tangy, which I love. I made it 2 days before and refrigerated to use in mini pies. Note, to avoid the egg issue do the following: melt the butter (in the microwave) and then put all ingredients but the eggs in a sauce pan. Use an immersion blend (or whisk) to blend everything and then add one egg at a time blending thoroughly. After everything is blended, then bring it to a boil. By incorporating the eggs first, you will avoid the boiled egg issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a really great recipe and is lovely and incredibly tasty every time. However,I would definitely suggest leaving the heat on low the entire time. Otherwise, the eggs cook too much and you have to sift them out. It's a bit like eggnog in that sense - don't overcook it! :) Otherwise, this is an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Prepared this exactly as directed. It was super simple and the flavor was good, but I didn't like the texture with the zest in the curd. Next time, I will leave the butter out until after I can make tracks in the curd with the whisk. Then, I'll strain it, add the butter, and throw it into the blender or food processor. I've made curds before using this technique and have liked the texture much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made my curd using the exact ingredients of this recipe, but I changed the way I put them together based on recommendations I received from someone on the Buzz. And it worked PERFECTLY! I creamed the butter and sugar just like I was going to make cookies or cake. Then I added the eggs one at a time, beating until very fluffy each time. Then I added the lemon juice and zest. When it was fully mixed, I poured it into a pan and heated it on stovetop, stirring constantly. It gave me perfect curd with no egg curdles! Like magic! Oh, yum! Now it's used as a filling in a birthday cake with some leftovers for my toast! Yummy! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Better than my English mum used to make! I doubled the recipe - except the butter (left it at 1/2 cup) and sugar (used 1 1/4 cups). I mixed juice, eggs & sugar and cooked on low but it took about 20 minutes. I added the butter and zest when it was done and off the heat. My children loved it and my 12 year old daughter said it was better than chocolate! I used it for an anniversary cake filling and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States