Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Lemon curd is very easy to make - and oh, so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
My lemon curd didn't get thick enough but that was definitely my fault b/c I was afraid of having scrambled eggs. It is so good and tart. I used it as a filling to a white cake with whipped cream cream cheese frosting and it was perfect. I had some curd left over and it was great spooned over the cake adding more of that great lemon flavor!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Outstanding!! I'm not sure what the problem was for the other reviewers--I had success with this recipe and it tastes wonderful. Perhaps the key is to make sure to whisk the mixture on *very low* heat continuously until done. You definitely don't want to overcook it or heat it to high (or yes, it will cook the egg). Like custards, this can be fussy, but if you follow the recipe you should have success as I did. Good luck! It's soooo tasty! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
One word...YUMMY! It is important to cook on low heat stirring constantly until thick. If a moderate to high heat is used it will become lemon scrambled eggs. I served this at a dinner party by spooning it over slices of pound cake and then topping it off with sliced strawberries. Everyone asked for seconds! Do try this recipe and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I made this using the recommendation to stir constantly over low heat and it turned out great!! My husband loved it and so did I. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I used the double boiler method over medium heat, as one reviewer suggested, and still got a few egg whites, so I cheated and spun it in the blender for about 20 sec, then returned to the double boiler over low heat. The flavor is awesome, next time I'll again use the double boiler, but over low heat not medium. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Very yummy and lemony! Perfect consistancy. However, it took me a lot longer using a double broiler at medium low heat (about 50 mins cook time). But I am super pleased with it anyway since I was afraid to get the scrambled eggs that others had mentioned. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Other reviews made me nervous, so I used a very low heat and didn't stop stirring. It took about 25 minutes, but the result was perfect. Next time I'll brave a little higher temperature. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll never buy it in a jar again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I just threw all the ingredients together, then stirred over a medium double boiler. I never stopped stirring and it came out perfect. The flavor was full of lemon-y goodness, and I served it with scones and clotted cream. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
super easy and make the best lemon bars. I was really impressed. Make sure to temper the eggs carfully I had several egg chucks! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States