Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too much butter and it takes much longer than it says. I added a teaspoon of lemon extract too for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I decided to try this recipe since my other one takes a little longer to make. I just finnished making this and it did not thicken up as much as I had originally thought. I did temper my eggs but after returning the mixture to the heat it was taking a long time to thicken. So in fear of curdling my eggs I took it off the stove. Even though it was still a little runny I whisked in some gelatin while it was still hot to try and thicken it and it did help some. Then I added my butter after it cooled some and it did set up a little nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Amazing and very simple lemon curd. If you are getting cooked egg white pieces in your curd you are not whisking enough and probably have your heat to high. I made a lower calorie lemon cake (mixing cake mix and 1 can diet cherry 7up) baked the cake in two 8 inch cake pans. When I layered the cake I covered each layer in the lemon curd (kind of undid the whole lower calorie thing but oh well) anyway this lemon curd made my cake amazing!!!! I finished the cake off with some low fat cool whip. It was a big hit at our Easter lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious enough to eat alone. I would add additional thickening if I wanted to use as a pie filling, though. I strained the end product to remove the rind any egg that might have curdled, and because I didn't want to watch for seeds when juicing lemons :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Excellent Lemon curd! I did end up with a couple little pieces of egg, but no one else would have ever noticed. My advice is to keep the heat as low as you can and never stop mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was exactly what I was looking for - like lemonade but goopy, haha! I might have been a *little* generous about the sugar, I didn't want to risk puckering. Very good directions in the comments to help the process go easier, I had never had to deal with tempering eggs before, and this turned out perfectly the first attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
It took me about thirty minutes over low heat to get this to thicken, and even tempering the eggs I ended up having to strain it. I've since learned that there is a microwave lemon curd recipe on this site- I think I would try that one if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Photo by sarahjean
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Delicous! I doubled the lemon zest. Also melted the butter and sugar on low heat until the sugar was dissolved then added the lemon juice which cooled down the mixture a bit before i added the eggs last so they didnt cook. I then turned up the heat a bit and stirred until thick. A great way to use up lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahjean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
OMG!!! This lemon curd is to die for - SO easy and quick, and tastes exactly like the curd my grandmother used to make. I have chickens and a lemon tree - now I know exactly what I will be doing with all the extra lemons and eggs I get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielMac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
YUMMY!!! I made this just because I could but then ended up using it in a Lemon Bar recipe. Delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States