Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This lemon curd recipe is excellent. I dumped everything in a pan and commenced to stir... no problems! It thickened to the perfect, dollop-able texture; it was bright colored, bright flavored, light and fluffy. I only used 1 Tbl. of butter, and found that very adequate. I've had problems with lemon curds tasting eggy, and that wasn't a problem this time. Delicious, delicious!! I can't wait to try it with grapefruit or limes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I didn't like this recipe at all when i took the lid off this pan i ended up with lemon scrambled eggs !!! I thought I did something wrong so i did it again and the same thing happend!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I tried this recipe and it's nothing short of excellent!! Can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Easy and delicious. Had no problems, just combined everything and heated slowly. Perfect on berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I made this into lime curd instead and put it on little mini cheesecakes. They tasted just like key lime pie. I also used them on lemon scones. Mine did get a little eggy however I just kept stiring until it was really thick (about 30 mins) This is a keeper and I will be using it in my store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Well, YES - Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Absolutely wonderful lemon curd. Nice texture and delightfully tart. It's such a simple recipe, too. I just used a normal saucepan, like the directions said to, and it worked beautifully. You don't need a double boiler to make this recipe, just a pan and a wire whisk, and the attention span necessary to stand there and stir it until it thickens. The only thing I did differently is that I completely forgot to add the butter, and I think I prefer it this way! I will definitely make it again, and maybe next time I'll try it with the butter, just for the sake of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is a great tasting, very easy recipe. Make it just as directed -- throw everything in together and cook it. Don't worry about "scrambled eggs" -- just whisk it as it cooks. I made this for some British friends and they raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I read a lot of reviews with concerns about 'scrambled eggs' which is common when eggs are cooked too quickly. As a pastry chef I always temper the eggs. Here's how to do it: Combine the juice and zest in a double boiler and heat until hot, not boiling. If you don't have a double boiler, a metal bowl atop a saucepan filled with water works just fine, just make sure it's stable. Have the eggs in a separate bowl, and mix in the sugar just before adding the juice. When the juice is hot, SLOWLY pour some over the eggs and sugar while whisking. This may take two people, but a towel under the egg bowl will help it from moving around. You don't have to pour all the juice, just enough to make the egg mixture the same temperature as the juice. Pour the egg mixture back into the juice over a strainer. This will get rid of any eggs that may have curdled. Then cook over medium-low heat until thick enough to hold the marks from the whisk. Finally remove the curd from the heat and add the butter a little at a time, stirring to help it melt. I hope this helps anyone concerned about curdling eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
478 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I made this with my British mother in law, and we were all very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States