Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Consistency turned out really well. Flavour a bit tart for my liking on scones (or eating with spoon), but will keep for when I want a more tart lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Goettert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oropi, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Searched for 9 years to duplicate a Lemon Curd we had on our Honeymoon in Maine. Finally found its PERFECT match.***Try on Zucchini bread***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I have made this recipe at least ten times now and it always turns out great. I have served it with scones for tea and everyone always loves it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I have made this several times now. I omit the zest and use 1/2 stick butter=1/4 cup. To avoid any cooked egg bits I cream the butter and sugar then add eggs one at a time mixing well after each. Then add lemon juice then heat. Takes about 15-20 minutes to thicken, stir constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I was trying to come up with something to give my friend (one of those people who shops constantly and has EVERYTHING!!) for her birthday. She absolutely loves lemon curd so.... Turns out this was the all time favorite gift for her. I kept a little bit back for myself for tasting and found it quite tart but excellent. The consistency and flavor is perfect. I didn't have any lemon rind on hand so made it without. Next time I'll be certain to put it in for an added zing. This recipe is a must for all who enjoy a nice lemon flavor with plenty of tartness but enough sweetness for a godd balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I am not sure what went wrong. I followed the directions to a T, and this came out soupy, it did not thicken on the stove at all. Maybe the directions need to be altered to give it a longer time to thicken. Another problem I had was when I put this in the fridge to thicken and cool, the butter separated from the curd and formed a hard butter "shell" over it. I was going to use this in a lemon cake for the filling but I can't have junks of butter floating in it. Also- I thought this should be a smooth and silky consistency, somewhat like a lemon meringue pie would be, but this was junky and nothing like the lemon filling I was expecting. I only gave this a 3 for the flavor, great strong lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The flavor of this lemon curd is really good--the three stars are for the incomplete directions. An inexperienced cook would definitely mess this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I used Peachy28's suggested method and I have PERFECT, creamy, smooth curd sitting in my fridge right this moment. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Word to the wise, this recipe is great, and easy to make.. but don't make the mistake of making it in a reactive pot or double boiler (i.e. made of metal) unless you're a big fan of the flavor of metal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcadiaBoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe is great. The curd is just the right balance of lemony and sweet. Once it bubbled, I added about 1/2 tablespoon of cornstarch to help it solidify a bit more. My friend and I made this and gave it with gingerbread cakes for Christmas gifts. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States