Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is the best. I use it all the time to make lemon tarts and also use it as a spread on tea biscuits and toast.If it were possible I would rate it a ten.I've given the recipe to my eldest sone and it has become his signature recipe for lemon tarts. Whenever he is invited to a dinner party ( after many hints )he opts to provide the dessert made with this and boughten tart shells.For a nice quick dessert put a tart on a dessert plate top with some fresh raspberries and add a swirl of melted good dark chocolate around the rim of the tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is really good. The real lemon does taste better. I used the lemon curd to use as a topping on a cheesecake it was wonderful. The time it took in the microwave to cook seemed like forever though since I didn't want it to get lumpy . I opened the micro every 30 to 40 seconds for about 15 to 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I love lemon curd and have never made it at home because I thought it would be too much trouble. Totally easy and came out perfectly (hence the name, I guess). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was the first time I've ever made a lemon curd, and it was spectacular. I love lemon desserts, mind you, but this is so quick and requires minimal ingredients; it would be easy to whip together if you had unexpected guests. It's lovely cold or hot off the stove. I sprinkled mine with confectioner's sugar to match some of that tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Oh, this was WONDERFUL!!! I did this in a double-boiler over med-low heat and had no problems at all with the eggs cooking. I made a half-batch (used one egg) because I was concerned that my husband and I wouldn't get through a full batch before it went bad, but it was gone within a day! Next time I'll probably double it - my husband just couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
So easy. Wonderfully bright and clean flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I switched out 3 eggs for 3/4 cup of tofu and used half the sugar. I also added a tablespoon of all purpose flour to help thicken it, and cooked over medium high heat. There were curds of tofu left after it thickened, but just pour it in the blender and blend till it's smooth. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAXYBONE
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Great recipe and very easy to make. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is a great recipe, so fast and easy. I lost my grandmothers recipe and this taste just like her lemon curd. The only thing I did different was using 1 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cups. I read some of the other reviews and they commented on the lemon curd being a little too tart so I added a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly...I used a mixer and blended the sugar and butter, then added the eggs, then added the juice and zest. Then transferred to stove. Had no problems with mini pieces of scrambled eggs...however, I did pass it through a sieve to get rid of the zest once finished cooking. Make sure you keep on stiring this the whole time! Took mine at least ten minutes. After it had cooled a little, I tasted it and it was very tart so I added more sugar until it fit my personal preference. I made this recipe for a filling for a cake--mine definitely thickened up but I think it was too thin for cake filling (cake may just absorb it all). Next time I make this, I will DEFINITELY add cornstarch to make it really really thick and add more sugar...overall, a great base recipe to try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States