Perfect Flourless Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Fabulous recipe! I followed this recipe exactly and served it to 10 guests at my Passover seder. For those of you who are wondering, all the ingredients are acceptable for Passover, but of course it is a great dessert for anytime. My husband fell crazy in love with this cake, and it was such a huge hit with my dinner guests that everyone asked me for the recipe! OK, down to brass tacks: I could not find thin skinned oranges, so used 2 naval oranges instead. Therefore, after boiling them and letting them cool, I removed the skins (they fell right off) and gently pared away any pith from the skins, to avoid having a bitter flavor in the cake. After removing the seeds (there were almost none) I threw the skins and orange meat into the food processor as directed and finished the recipe. Although my oven was preheated, the cake did need the full hour to cook through. Instead of whipped cream on top, I made orange icing (which I think I found on this site) by mixing together 1 cup confectioners sugar with 1 tablespoon orange juice. I spread the icing over the cake and also decorated the top with a circle of fresh raspberries. Not only was the cake delicious, but it was quite pretty! Lucence, whoever you are, I can't thank you enough. My dinner guests were very impressed, and my husband keeps asking me to make it again - which I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I cooked this outdoors in a camp Dutch oven yesterday at our Dutch oven gathering. It was wonderful. Nothing but a couple crumbs to bring home. I had prepped by cooking the oranges the night before and I did have access to electricity so I whipped the eggs and sugar on-site before putting into my oven. After cooling pretty well, I put a paper plate on top and it fell right into it as I turned the oven upside down. Then I peeled off the parchment paper and turned it onto another paper plate where it was promptly cut and devoured. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Hirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I was a bit nervous after reading the reviews though it seems my experience was quite different. Not sure if it made a difference but I used organic oranges which turned out not to have any seeds. When I tasted the pulp it was a bit bitter so I only used about 2/3 of it in the recipe. Cake turned out perfectly and even my 13 yr old picky eater & his friend loved it! It did have a bit of an "eggy" flavor so next time I would probably add more vanilla or even substitute a flax seed "egg" for one of the eggs. I used some of the left over orange pulp to flavor a cream cheese frosting (for use on carrot cake muffins) and the neighborhood kids all loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I have now made this 3 times. My husband who is not gluten free loves it. I follow the recipe exactly however I always end up with too much batter for a cake pan. It works perfectly with a greased springform pan. Thanks for an awesome gluten free dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I put a jar of marmalade in the microwave to liquefy it and spread/drizzled it over the top for frosting. Everyone I have shared this with has lived it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Love it!! used two navel oranges which yielded 2 cups of puree; added a pinch of salt and 2 tsps chopped candied ginger. (omitted the safron) Made two batches: first batch was split into two 8 inch cake pans, baked about 40 minutes, second batch went into a 10 inch spring form- was done after 50 minutes . cake has moist orangey taste - great with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. Froze one too - thawed quickly and was even better really cold. This is a delcious keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made this with 2 lemons and candied orange peel. Delicious. Moist, light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielmihaly
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made a few additions to this cake: I added orange cream cheese frosting, and candied oranges as decoration. The recipe for the frosting I would cut in half, it was a little too sweet with the original recipe. My girl friend rated this make with my additions an 11 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
We are a gluten free household and we loved this cake! DH particularly loves orange flavor. The only changes I made were for dietary restrictions, 1/2 c. sugar & 1/4 tsp. stevia powder with the eggs. I also added a pinch of salt to almond meal. It was very beautifully orangey. Just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States