Perfect Flourless Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I put a jar of marmalade in the microwave to liquefy it and spread/drizzled it over the top for frosting. Everyone I have shared this with has lived it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Love it!! used two navel oranges which yielded 2 cups of puree; added a pinch of salt and 2 tsps chopped candied ginger. (omitted the safron) Made two batches: first batch was split into two 8 inch cake pans, baked about 40 minutes, second batch went into a 10 inch spring form- was done after 50 minutes . cake has moist orangey taste - great with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. Froze one too - thawed quickly and was even better really cold. This is a delcious keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made this with 2 lemons and candied orange peel. Delicious. Moist, light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielmihaly
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made a few additions to this cake: I added orange cream cheese frosting, and candied oranges as decoration. The recipe for the frosting I would cut in half, it was a little too sweet with the original recipe. My girl friend rated this make with my additions an 11 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
We are a gluten free household and we loved this cake! DH particularly loves orange flavor. The only changes I made were for dietary restrictions, 1/2 c. sugar & 1/4 tsp. stevia powder with the eggs. I also added a pinch of salt to almond meal. It was very beautifully orangey. Just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I actually enjoyed the cake, but I given only three stars because the stated 60 minutes to bake the cake was nearly twice as long as it took for the cake to bake. I set the timer at 45 minutes but I happened to peek in the oven after about 35 minutes, and the cake was clearly done, if not overdone. I know my oven has the right temperature. I have a good quality oven thermometer in it and I have tested it several times. I also take issue with "two oranges" listed in the ingredients. Oranges come in many different sizes. Two oranges could be a cup and a half or as little as half a cup. A more specific quantity should have been listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was so good. I was nervous because of some of the reviews, but I took time to scoop out a lot of the pith, leaving the peel and the orange fruit of course. I don't think it was too hard to do, maybe a little messy but just do it over the sink. Boiling the orange made the house smell great! The second time around I added cloves to the boiling to impart a little extra flavor. P.S. note that you need to beat the eggs for 10 minutes! That's an easy thing to miss and why some might not have gotten a great (non-cakey) texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Amazing cake! I topped mine with a semi-sweet chocolate glaze. My two favorite things orange and chocolate. Finding a moist tasty flourless cake is hard but this is one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I'm not sure what I could have done wrong but the texture sure wasn't like the photo. It was not dense at all, in fact, it was quite airy. Maybe I beat the egg and sugar too long. I had to look up other recipes to figure out of the peel went in the processor as well. I would have liked to see that little tidbit in the recipe. The cake stuck to everything regardless of the parchment and the nonstick spray. I used naval oranges and I think the flavor is good. Another plus of the naval orange is there were no seeds. If you can afford the saffron, it's really great spice. If I try this recipe again, I think I will look for different one, not a fan of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Did not care for the texture. I've made flourless cakes before and the texture has always been different but good. Taste was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States