Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I'm a Texas boy and I've eaten nothing but grilled steaks my whole life. I was really unsure about the marinade and pan frying a steak but decided to take a gamble. Boy, was I surprised, the steaks turned out tender and juicy with the perfect flavor to accent the great taste of the meat, not over powering, and defiantly not undetectable. If you are looking for a restaurant quality steak without having to own a grill, this is it. 5 Stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I know that flat iron steaks are the new "in" steaks nowadays, so I was keen at trying them as I never had one. I came across this recipe and decided to take a ride to my local butcher's. I brought the steaks home and followed the recipe to a tee. The outcome was great! The steaks had a wonderful flavor from the marinade and were very juicy and tender. I cooked them medium rare (one medium) and they were perfect. I sautéed some button mushrooms in butter, olive oil and onion powder and served a small amount on top of the steak. I would make this recipe again and also use this cut of steak again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Oh my God, this was incredible. The best flat iron steak I have every had. My hat goes off to cocinajnots. The taste was dancing in my mouth. Don’t change a thing. I just finish dinner and had to come and post this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My mother-in-law sent this recipe to me recently. While over at her house during the holidays, she made this for the family. It was WONDERFUL! I ate it up. It was nice, because she could cook the meat to the "doneness" of everyone's liking. My husband and I prefer medium-rare or medium-well. My in-laws prefer their meat more well-done. It was SO tender! She, too, followed the recipe to a tee. I will definitely be looking for flat-iron steak at the grocer in the very near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was an o.k recipe. I followed the directions exactly and we couldn't figure out the taste. We thought either it has too much mustard or I let it marinade too long (I put it to marinade in the morning and we didn't end up grilling it until the next day for lunch. I might try it again with less mustard or with prepared mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARISTA74
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a very easy and flavorful recipe. I did add a little more garlic and rosemary than called for, but that's because I like my flavors a little intense. I also used the pan scrapings to make a simple wine and mushroom gravy to round it out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARISTA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very good recipie just the way it is. I sauted some mushrooms and made mashed potatoes to go with the steaks and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe. I only give it 4 stars because it seems like something is missing. As someone else said, you are sort of trying to figure out the taste. I'll try other things to add or take out. A pretty good steak though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very good. My husband and I really liked it. I used Madeira wine instead... all I had in hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was really good. I had never tried a Flat Iron steak before and I was so excited about how it turned out that I went and got another one and made up my own marinade! My husband has asked that Flat Iron steaks be added to the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States