Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Not so good. It was very tender, but it tasted like liver. Ick. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I'm not quite at the "PERFECT" level on this recipe but it was good. I have other Flat Iron recipes I prefer but it was worth a try. I followed this recipe as written. The amount of Mustard Powder seemed a tad high. I still enjoy the reviews that bear little resemblance to the recipe their rating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I couldn't find any "flat iron" cuts of steak so I purchased tender medallions (another shoulder cut). Other than that I didn't change a thing. The flavor of the marinade is amazing, even after just two hours, and the cooking instructions were right on target. We got a perfect medium rare. My boyfriend was very impressed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
this was very good! I marinated for over 24 hours and it turned out very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I have never cooked with this particular cut of meat and I was pleasantly surprised at how tender this turned out to be! I made this strictly to specifications and found that the wine flavor took center stage to others, so for those that do not like the strong 'wine flavor' I would strongly recommend cutting the amount that you use. My husband does not like bloody meat so I cooked it 8 minutes per side on an indoor grill and found it to be perfect, not overcooked at all. I will definitely make this again, but with less wine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I did not care for this at all. I don't even like the smell of it. Judging by the other reviews it was good so I am not sure if it is just because I am sensitive to the Cabernet or the mustard powder or what but I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Im not sure what I did wrong, especially after reading the reviews again but it turned out horrible. Id really like to know what I did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCatrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
My Very picky husband LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msyoung

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
this is far from perfect. it was still breathing after the suggested prepared time. not rare but BREATHING!!! it took another 15 minutes and then 5 to rest to get it to medium rare. and the steak was NEVER frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it. My first try with the flat iron cut--it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States