Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was absolutely a restaurant grade meal! For those that have asked, a flat iron steak is also called a "Top Blade Steak". In my supermarket, it's called a Flat Iron steak and comes prepackaged in a cryovac (sp?) package. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly. I think that you need to in order to give an accurate review...is not fair to give a bad or less than complimentary review if you did not use the same ingredients, left one or more out, or substituted. (You can decide after trying if you want to tweak it to your tastes.) Is not necessary to use an expensive wine...I used a $2.97 bottle of Oak Leaf that I got at Walmart. I also used the fresh herbs and I think I marinaded this for about 6 hours. This was just for my husband and I, so the steak I bought was just a little over 1 pound. I still used the same measurements for the marinade and it was perfect. I cut the meat in half because I knew my husband would want his more done....I am a medium rare girl...he doesn't like to see a lot of red. And that brings me to some complaints I saw of this recipe regarding the cooking time. It's difficult to judge that because of the thickness of the steak you buy and the heat you use. I started the burner at medium high about 3 minutes before I added the meat (gas burner). I would say that for my steak, it took about 7-8 minutes per side for medium-rare. I left my husband's in the pan for an additional 3 min. per side and it was perfect for him. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is really close to a marinade I've been looking for from a steak house from 40 years ago. Of course it was done on a flank steak then. You just made a wish come true! Big thanks Cocina JNOTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
perfect I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Made this last night just as directed, except had to sub prepared brown mustard, and it does make a very tasty steak. I used 1" thick filets, med-rare, cooked 3 mins each side. Very pretty sliced on the platter too. Might try topping with some sauted mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
It may be that I simply do not like Flat Iron steaks. I have cooked them several times and not liking them exactly, I tried this recipe. While I WILL SAY the meat was very tender, I did not like the taste. I doubt I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
1/4 C of mustard was way too much. I had to wash the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Conley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good. The only thing I changed was I used 2 tsp and not 1/4c of dry mustard powder as I only had 2 tsp left in the bottle on hand. But, even if I had more....I would be afraid to use 1/4 of mustard powder in a small batch of marinade. It sounds like an awful lot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Lori Jay, Flat iron steak is the shoulder top blade cut. Found this online: The Flat Iron is very similar to any of the Flat Steaks so anything calling for Skirt or Flank Steak will benefit from a Flat Iron Steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
i am in CANADA and have never heard of flat iron steak - could you please advise what other cut (name) it could be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Waumsley-Sharpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I am head over heals in love with this recipe. GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States