Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
After reading a number of reviews I decided to try this. The recipe needs something and even before making it, I thought the recipe lacked acid. I made the following modifications...turns out great for those needing something more. * Use an old cab that you have stored in the fridge for a few weeks that you like. The cab needs to oxidize and take on some off flavors and acids. Alternatively you can just fully use a home made Cab near vinegar. * If you use wine, cut it with balsamic vinegar. * I decided to use a slice/two of a small yellow onion (close to a shallot) in place of the chives to bring out more pungency. For the lack of acid I rate this 3.5 stars. No such rating to the benefit goes to the engineering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I prefer to use a Merlot rather than a Cabernet Sauvignon, and 3 cloves of garlic. Nevertheless, a great steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
AWESOME! Had to use dry herbs and didn't have Wine so I used Red Wine Vinegar - the steak was great. Will definately get some fresh herbs to use next time tho. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Horton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Just made this tonight following the exact directions and ingredients and it tasted okay. Cooked per the directions it comes out very rare. So, we broiled them in the oven on a grill rack for about 10 minutes afterwards. The meat came out super juicy and much better this way. To bring out a bolder taste I made a dipping sauce mixing 1/4 cup zinfandel (or red wine), 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. This really livened up this recipe's flavor and and should be added as part of the recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jane1434

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I have made this recipe several times, you could say I am addicted to it. I barbeque them and the are awsome! Served with sauteed mushrooms and roasted red potatoes with shallots and garlic. Guess whats for dinner tonight?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I was so excited to try this recipe - but it was awful. I followed recipe exactly but ended up with tough steak with awful flavor. Was a waste of grocery $$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't drain the marinade. I let it brown with the meat until it was like bar-b-q sauce. It went so fast around my house, the smell still hung in the air and my skillet was still cooling, but it was GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
LOVE, LOVE the marinade! For us, probably best on a better cut of meat. Had to cook longer than suggested as it was really rare...returned to pan to cook longer. Meat was quite chewy. I will try again, but use a better cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent! Followed to a "T"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carabelli
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
You can't get proper browning on a steak in a nonstick skillet. In order to form that perfect crust, you have to use a cast iron (preferably) or a stainless steel skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States