Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I was curious about flat iron steak since I have been reading about it on the cooking websites so I purchased a decent looking cut and then happened upon this excellent recipe and the proponents and steak aficionados were quite right about the excellent nature of this relatively new steak! It came out very tender and was delicious! Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EZWriter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I don't know what I did here, but I couldn't taste the marinade and it didn't tenderize the steak very much. I even doubled the marinating time. One thing I did different was was use sliced flat iron steaks. Maybe, that was a problem. I did cook them in a hot pan versus grilling. Both, never seemed to be a problem before though. The steak was still descent, for not being a prime cut, just not sure entirely about what the marinate did for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was great! We cooked it in the oven at 500 degrees in a cast iron pan. 3 mins per side! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is one of our favorite (non-BBQ) steak recipes. Exceptionally tender and flavorful. We've prepared it several times without the dry mustard (simply because we didn't have any) and loved it. I'm going to try the dry mustard today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darklordlarry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Your recipe is very aptly named. This was hands-down the most fantabulous steak I have ever eaten!! The marinade was delicious and the meat almost melted in my mouth, it was so tender. Good-bye Tenderloin, this is my new Fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Crane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made this last night following the recipe and it was fantastic!!! Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I really did not care for the marinade on this steak. I am a big fan of flat iron steaks and was hoping to find a recipe for pan frying them. Something about the cab wine and the mustard. Hubby said it was good but we both like the "Grilled Flat Iron Steak with Blue Cheese butter" much better. Though the marinades are quite similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Thank you !! The steak weas very tender with a bold beefy flavor. A real keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was DELICIOUS. Marinated the steaks for about 5 hours. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I agree with other posters that the marinade needs more acidity. I would recommend substituting red wine vinegar and worcestershire sauce for some of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States