Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
So so so good! I've made this recipe 4 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Hilliard
Photo by Pat Paris
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I put into a glass pan instead of a bag but I don't think it did any harm. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I thought that the seasonings were quite anemic. I pretty much quadrupled the recipe amounts. I just love flat irons and this flavor combination was very good. Note to people who are not familiar with this cut: this is not a good grilling steak. It is a great pan steak. DO NOT cook it passed medium. Mid rare is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Best steak recipe ever. This was my 1st time making a flat iron steak and I am back to the butcher for a couple more. I used all the fresh herbs but after chopping I had 1/3 c of herbs. I used molasses in place of the wine which is what I have always used in my marinade recipes. I marinaded this for 4 hours and fried this in a large fry pan at medium/high heat for 4 minutes each side. The steak was med/rare throughout the entire steak and juicy translucent. 5+ star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Best Steak Ever! I can't believe how good such a cheap cut could be. I'm not a fan of wine, red esp, so I used someone's suggestion to sub balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce instead. I also heated a cast iron skillet in a 500 °F oven to sear both sides for 4 mins and it came out juicy, almost fork tender, and exactly cooked as stated. I like my beef rare, so next time I'll do it for 2.5 or 3 mins per side, but I already went back and bought more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
My steak was about the same size and thickness as the picture. The recommended time to cook was way off. Even after eight minutes on each side, it was still raw. I threw some butter on it and stuck it in the oven at 400 until the internal temp was adequate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this last nite and my wife just loved it! As some suggested, substituted balsamic vinegar & worchestershire sauce for the wine. To us, that made all the difference. Really bold flavor with this option. Iron skillet in pre-heated oven at 500 degrees and baked 4 min per side. It just hissed and gave a nice sear to hold the juices. We don't see flat iron steak very often but we will now be on the look out for more. Purchased at a Super Walmart that really had a good selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was a quick, easy and delicious recipe! I only changed one thing because I didn't have chopped chives on hand, so I used green onion, instead. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This turned out awesome. I followed the recipe and used all fresh rosemary, chive and parsley from my wife's herb garden. I also used fresh chopped garlic. Pan fried. Oh, I didn't have cab, so I used merlot. Turned out tender & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the wine.I substituted red wine vinegar and Worcestershire sauce; someone else had recommended that. It was tasty and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Culpepper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States