Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this last nite and my wife just loved it! As some suggested, substituted balsamic vinegar & worchestershire sauce for the wine. To us, that made all the difference. Really bold flavor with this option. Iron skillet in pre-heated oven at 500 degrees and baked 4 min per side. It just hissed and gave a nice sear to hold the juices. We don't see flat iron steak very often but we will now be on the look out for more. Purchased at a Super Walmart that really had a good selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was a quick, easy and delicious recipe! I only changed one thing because I didn't have chopped chives on hand, so I used green onion, instead. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This turned out awesome. I followed the recipe and used all fresh rosemary, chive and parsley from my wife's herb garden. I also used fresh chopped garlic. Pan fried. Oh, I didn't have cab, so I used merlot. Turned out tender & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the wine.I substituted red wine vinegar and Worcestershire sauce; someone else had recommended that. It was tasty and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
To me, this had no taste. I ended up adding a rub to it to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Yes a good dish. It did not matter that ready made mustard was used instead and any sort of red wine. Strain the marinade and when you have cooked the steaks leave to settle and then boil the liquid rapidly to make a jus, add a splash of balsamic vinegar (fig if you have it) and away you go. Slice up the steak as you would a ducks breast. This could also be served with a little cranberry sauce and parsley sprinkled over the top. Your guests will think you have spend far more than the Flat Iron costs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was excellent! i used dry herbs but fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravens

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Delicious! Nice marinade. I didn't have the cabernet so just used some red wine I had and I also didn't have fresh rosemary so had to use dried. Then I was the opposite and didn't have dry mustard so squeezed in some regular old yellow mustard. I think I added a bit extra garlic and then stuck it in a bag and went to bed. We had it the next night for dinner Got my steak on clearance for 50% off to so it made it taste even better!! We like our meat still close to growling so it was rare-med/rare and so tender you could cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seabeck, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I was curious about flat iron steak since I have been reading about it on the cooking websites so I purchased a decent looking cut and then happened upon this excellent recipe and the proponents and steak aficionados were quite right about the excellent nature of this relatively new steak! It came out very tender and was delicious! Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EZWriter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I don't know what I did here, but I couldn't taste the marinade and it didn't tenderize the steak very much. I even doubled the marinating time. One thing I did different was was use sliced flat iron steaks. Maybe, that was a problem. I did cook them in a hot pan versus grilling. Both, never seemed to be a problem before though. The steak was still descent, for not being a prime cut, just not sure entirely about what the marinate did for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States