Perfect Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
The directions are sketchy at best. I had good results only b/c I know how to make creme brulee. I chose a different method entirely to make this. I blended the egg yolks & sugar together and placed this in a double boiler, and added the vanilla and cream. I continually stirred this mixture until it had thickened. I then poured it into ramekins and refrigerated it. After it cooled I used a finally ground turbinado sugar (raw sugar) and carmelised it w/ my butane torch. Simple recipe but given the instructions wouldn't recommend this to a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
After reading another review, I read a few more recipes to see how to make this. I mixed the egg yolks and sugar and vanilla together, heated the cream, added it a little at a time to the egg yolks. Worked fine. I didn't put it through a sieve, and cooked it in ramekins- but it only fit into 3 6oz ramekins. Loved the taste. It was quite thick. I used a torch for the sugar- still getting the hang of that, but overall it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It came out perfect and very good. I put a little too much sugar on top. Next time I will know to use just a little on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe and thought it was very tasty! Thanks for sharing it!!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to follow. This was my first time making creme brulee so I was intimidated, but following this recipe made it a breeze. I topped with caramelized banana quarters (nice addition) but this recipe would have stood on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I was away from home and was making this for friends, and this recipe followed nearly as close to the one from Cooks Illustrated Best Recipes formula. I used: per 1/4 cup cream, 1 yolk, 1 T sugar and I strain the hot mixture before I put it in the ramekins. There are so many sizes of ramekins now~a serving can be quite relative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
i love the taste but a bit sad when i tried to caramelised the top with oven broiler and the whole contents shinks.. i was left with a small amount of creme brulee to eat. I would recommend to add more egg yolks and whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Too "course".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States