Perfect Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe! My first time making coconut macaroons and these came out great. The few recipes I looked at before this one called for condensed milk or unbeaten egg whites which sounded unusual. So I tried my hand at this recipe. It was pretty simple to whip together, easier than making chocolate chip cookies (and healthier). I don't think I'll ever need to resort to using condensed milk, this IS the perfect coconut macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
These were divine! They turned out exactly as I hoped they would. They seemed just like a macaroon from a bakery. Wonderful texture and just the right amount of sweetness. The ratio of ingredients works perfectly. I find this kind of macaroon to be so much better than the kind made with sweetened condensed milk. I prefer larger shreds of coconut, so I skipped the step with the food processor. Instead I mixed all of the ingredients (minus the egg whites and extracts) in the mixer on low speed until well combined. After moving that mixture to a large bowl, I beat the eggs whites and then beat in the extracts. I omitted the almond extract this time, but I may add it back in next time. Thank you for such a wonderful and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I had very high hopes for this recipe... I did the first batch as directed 350 for 15 min. but they didn't seem 'right'.. so I decreased the heat to 325 and upped the time to 22 min. Those were much better. I used tablespoons , as I am not sure what golf ball sized meant. I pulsed the coconut in the food processor for 30 sec as directed, but in future batches, I think I will leave the coconut shaggier for a lighter, slightly dense macaroon. or at least only pulse half of the coconut. I did like the half vanilla half almond flavoring. Overall, will make again, but with the changes as mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe and liked it but I used 6 Tablespoons of flour and 1 teaspoon of Baking Powder and beat my egg whites till a stiff peak formed and then folded everything in. They came out perfectly round and high. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
These really WERE perfect! I made them for a friend's birthday, and they were a huge hit. I made them the night before, and refrigerated them until ready to eat. The yeild of the recipe for me was about 20 macaroons. I would've probably had a lot more, but I didn't beat the eggwhites enough, so they completely fell when I added the coconut. Next time I make these macaroons, I will whip those eggwhites until there's no tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegetariancook123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Excellent! My second batch is in the oven now. I took the suggestion and used the 6 tbsp. of flour and 1 tsp. of baking powder. I did not have almond extract so I omitted. I also mixed in bowl without processing. I beat my egg whites to stiff peaks. Wetting the hands really helps solve the stickiness. I like my brown and toasty, so I kept them in the oven 20-25 minutes watching carefully. (My oven sucks so don't go by my time.) This is a keeper that will I will make often. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhalemic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I usually don't like recipes that say they are the best or perfect, but these truthfully are! I made for a friend who adores macaroons and she couldn't stop raving, a good dark chocolate is a must for dipping too. I used my #50 scoop and got 18 cookies, will make a bit smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I tried the macaroon recipes with sweetened condensed milk and found them to be way too sweet, with a glossy, weird texture. These looked and tasted like they came from a high-end bakery. This is going in my collection of treasured family recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I absolutely LOVE coconut macaroons. I had 3 egg whites leftover and wanted to do something rather than throw them out and this was the perfect recipe to use them in. I made the recipe exactly as written except for dipping them in chocolate (I may try that later). These were absolutely fabulous! Sweet enough without being too sweet. I would NOT recommend adding extra flour as some reviews suggest - it would likely make them too dry. If you have a hard time with them holding together just "squeeze" the balls hard, packing the dough together. This is what I did and it worked beautifully!!! This will be my go to recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made these gluten free by substituting Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Flour Mix. Used the 6 T flour & 1 t baking powder as suggested by Lisad25. These really did come out bakery quality. Had to bake 20 minutes in convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States