Perfect Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I tried the macaroon recipes with sweetened condensed milk and found them to be way too sweet, with a glossy, weird texture. These looked and tasted like they came from a high-end bakery. This is going in my collection of treasured family recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe! My first time making coconut macaroons and these came out great. The few recipes I looked at before this one called for condensed milk or unbeaten egg whites which sounded unusual. So I tried my hand at this recipe. It was pretty simple to whip together, easier than making chocolate chip cookies (and healthier). I don't think I'll ever need to resort to using condensed milk, this IS the perfect coconut macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
These were divine! They turned out exactly as I hoped they would. They seemed just like a macaroon from a bakery. Wonderful texture and just the right amount of sweetness. The ratio of ingredients works perfectly. I find this kind of macaroon to be so much better than the kind made with sweetened condensed milk. I prefer larger shreds of coconut, so I skipped the step with the food processor. Instead I mixed all of the ingredients (minus the egg whites and extracts) in the mixer on low speed until well combined. After moving that mixture to a large bowl, I beat the eggs whites and then beat in the extracts. I omitted the almond extract this time, but I may add it back in next time. Thank you for such a wonderful and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I've never made macaroons before and these turned out great! I liked the idea of using egg whites instead of condensed milk. They were still plenty sweet. I didn't have parchment paper so I just greased some aluminum foil. Quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
These really WERE perfect! I made them for a friend's birthday, and they were a huge hit. I made them the night before, and refrigerated them until ready to eat. The yeild of the recipe for me was about 20 macaroons. I would've probably had a lot more, but I didn't beat the eggwhites enough, so they completely fell when I added the coconut. Next time I make these macaroons, I will whip those eggwhites until there's no tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegetariancook123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
very, very good and simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
These coconut macaroons were so good! It was my first time ever making macaroons so, I didn't know how they would turn out but they turned out great. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe to the T.... and they came out perfect, will turm into my permanent macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAIKIRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Yes! Finally. a Perfect Macaroon! Light, yet dense & chewy & moist. Just like a tasty bakery cookie! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States