Perfect Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
These were so easy to make and came out delicious! So much better than the recipes that call for sweetened condensed milk. I did not use my food processor so my macaroons have larger pieces of coconut - next time I will use the processor but I think either way these are a winner! Used melted bittersweet chocolate to drizzle. I only made five cookie recipes this year for Christmas, and these are my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made these for a Christmas party this week, and they were a huge hit! My food processor was broken, and I prefer bigger shreds of coconut anyway, so I mixed the dry ingredients the old fashioned way in a bowl with a spoon. I also added an extra tablespoon of flour (any more and they would start to dry), and for the chocolate I did half semi-sweet and half dark. All in all, a truly fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I didn't like this recipe very much. It is possible I did something wrong thoughz not only did the cookies fall apart, they didn't taste very good either and I was really disappointed. It's edible, but I tried one and wish I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Good texture, easy to make, ok taste not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
My favorite cookie recipe. I make it without any sugar and don't miss it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodyTX
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Tried recipe today and hubby liked it. It's going to be a hit for the Christmas Party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodyTX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I was looking for a macaroon recipe that was light, fluffy and not too sweet. This was it! I also did not pulse the ingredients in the food processor since I like the long strands of coconut. I went with 3 tbsp. of flour instead of 1. Like other reviewers, I baked at 325 for 20 minutes. I dipped the bottoms in chocolate. I love this recipe because it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe! I didn't really like this at first because I was used to my mom's recipe with condensed milk. But when I tried it again the next day, it was delicious! Perfect amount of sweetness! I followed the recipe to the T except the processor part; I like to chew on the texture of shredded coconut. I used mini muffin pans and got 40 small pieces(about 31 calories each) and baked at 325F for 18minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Cruzin Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roo
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I'll preface my review by saying that I don't like coconut macaroons. I hate coconut. I have a hard time stomaching anything that calls for egg whites beaten until they form soft, foamy-looking peaks. But when I found myself in possession of a fresh coconut, I had to come up with SOMETHING to do with it. I found this recipe, thought "Well, Dad likes macaroons..." and got baking. They came out a little drippier than I expected, but I assume that's due to the fresh (and therefore containing more liquid than dried) coconut I used and not any fault with the recipe. They were a huge hit with my Dad (he ate about half the batch). Even I liked them enough to eat a whole one! Dad brought the remainder to my grandparents' house and my grandpa, who has never sneaked any food ever in his life, ate 4 (out of 6) while no one was looking. He liked them so much that I made a batch just for him for his 89th birthday party. These truly are the perfect macaroons! I'd highly recommend using fresh coconut if you can find one - they'll be a bit runnier until they bake and they won't turn slightly golden, but the flavor is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Ok, don't know why anyone would have a problem making this. They are my make-at-home Mounds Bar craving. Perfectly delicious. I only had vanilla, so I doubled the amount. One thing you have to do is squeeze the "dough" balls to get them to stay together better. Don't add more flour. Some liquid will ooze out but it keeps them intact. After baking, I let them cool, then dipped in the heated chocolate, put on waxed paper and refrigerated. OMG! Can't stop eating these yummies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States