Perfect Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Let me start out by saying I did NOT change this recipe! I did make a lot more because I started out with 36 chicken thighs cut up and therefore adjusted all the other ingredients accordingly! I was forced to slightly change the cooking method because of my needs so I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't add the cream until much later. I made everything according to the recipe (excluding the cream)a day ahead of time. Then today I put the chicken with its sauce in my 6-liter slow cooker on "keep warm" which gets it very hot. About 10 minutes before we were to eat, I added the cream (and a bit of sour cream - oops! That is a little change) For my large crowd this was PERFECT chicken! There was some leftover and everyone was asking if they could take it home which is always what I hope for - no leftovers at all! Thanks Faith! A perfect recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My kids totally loved this dish and are requesting it again. I steamed up some french green beans and placed them over a bed of steamed rice. I used boneless chicken breasts instead of thighs. After taking the chicken out of the oven. I sliced it up and then topped with the sauce. I will definitely repeat this mean and next time try some different mushrooms and a larger quantity than called for in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made this just as directed, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This chicken dish is soo good! I actually double the chicken and add extra mushrooms. Very tender and the flavors are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This dish was very nice! I loved the way the chicken crisped up with the cornstarch....a new method definitely. The ingredients all complimented one another very nicely. I would suggest cutting back a tad on the lemon juice. I made this recipe exactly as it was suggested and IMHO, the lemon amount was too much (capers add tartness on top of the lemon). I served the chicken with mushroom risotto and roasted asparagus and carrots. I will make again, only I will try over pasta (as the sauce doesn't thicken too much). I would suggest cutting the lemon by 1/4 and sticking to the other measurements exactly. Otherwise, I would recommend adding mascarpone. Thank you for sharing this lovely dish with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Served this tonight and everyone agreed~It IS Perfect Chicken! I didn't have fresh lemon so I used about 2 teaspoons of lemon juice and am glad I didn't add any more. It was just right. I also cut the heavy cream back to 1/2 cup and it thickened up quite nicely in the oven. Thank You for the Wonderful recipe, Faith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a little time intensive but WAAAAY better than just throwing a can of cream of mushroom soup. I used chicken breasts instead of thighs and it worked equally well. Excellent combination of ingredients and just plain white mushrooms work perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
My whole family loved this. I did change the spices only to accomadate what i had on hand but the sauce was wonderful. This made chicken taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I liked this but didn't love it and, quite honestly, don't think the result is worth the time. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
First off I have to say that the prep and cooking time are right on with this one. Don't pick this recipe if you are in a hurry for dinner. That being said it was worth the wait. I used 1 tablespoon each of fresh herbs as opposed to the dried and think this was a wise choice. I used onion powder in place of onions because my husband won't eat onions and left out the capers because I didn't have any. After reducing the broth it concentrated the sodium so next time I think I would choose a low sodium broth/stock. A few other reviewers mentioned the sauce not thickening up after simmering. Since the chicken is coated and browned in corn starch, which is a thickener, I thought that may help thicken the sauce in the oven. But I went ahead and took a little extra chicken broth and corn starch and thickened the sauce just a tad before covering the chicken. I'm glad I did. It was the perfect consistency when removing from the oven. The sauce is so yummy I kept taste testing while it was simmering :) The thighs were nice and tender but I may consider using BLSL breasts next time. We think this recipe is restaurant quality and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States